Skip to content

AI and spellcasters

So I have been playing the BG series off and on for over 15 years. Now I want to run it through with the following rules:

1. No reload unless my PC dies or an NPC I want in my party dies permanently.
2. No pausing whatsoever
3. All NPCs on AI only, I will only control my PC

Now, my question relates to what spells are used by the various spellcaster AI sets. I've noticed that for mages, magic missile and blindness are used a lot, and for clerics, cure light wounds, slow poison and defensive harmony (I think). Most of the other spells are never used as far as I've noticed. Has anyone explored what other spells are used by the AI?

Comments

• VitharVithar Member Posts: 70
    @TwinAxes The problem with AI is that it does non logical stuff like ''casting spells on low hp in front of mobs''.
    Bad positioning or no kiting ... again not going back when on low HP and millions of more things you don't wanna see.
  • TwinAxesTwinAxes Member Posts: 14
    That's supposed to be part of the challenge...if I can get this to work at all. If AI spell casting is too limited, I guess I can't.
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    The AI will not cast spells above level 3 from my experience. Its great for random encounters, but can actively hurt major encounters.
  • VitharVithar Member Posts: 70
    ThacoBell said:

The AI will not cast spells above level 3 from my experience. Its great for random encounters, but can actively hurt major encounters.

Neera casts Stoneskin and the spell is lvl 4.
    Create a character in SoD and see it when the game starts.
  • sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975