Skip to content

New mod in development - first time modder

fluke13fluke13 Member Posts: 399
edited April 2017 in General Modding
Hi all, I'm just starting to learn to mod and wanted to create an npc for bgee, sod and bg2ee.

My goals are:
1) Make a walking, talking npc, with banters, pids, friendship etc
2) Create some simple quests, which largely use underrated existing game mechanics
3) Add a little flavour of everything; kit, store, new item, upgrade item, bam art, new spell etc.
4) Have a lot of fun making it
5) Add voiceover

Hopefully I can use this thread, as a place holder for when the mod is ready for release - I'm going for a Q4 2017 release for the bgee portion. I thought it would be good to get some tips as I go and also see what things/ features people would like. As its my first mod, I'm planning to weigh in on what's already existing in the game and other mods, e.g. they seem to be a lot of mage enhancements out there, so thought Id make the npc some kind of mage to take advantage of these nice mods. I also thought I can use my npc for a tutorial. There are some fantastic modders here and out there, but maybe I can offer one thing they can't... the perspective of a total clueless heh.

I'm thinking of posting updates here, but dont want it to be too spoilerish. As I go, I'd be keen to get a few testers on board and possibly voice over.

I expect there will be more demand for Planescape mods, so hopefully I'll make it compatible with all IE platforms.

Update: 3 (I wont keep adding update number, I'll just edit the below as I work through this mod)

1) My npcs will touch on lore of Waterdeep, Halruaa and Khelben. I cant work out exactly - during bg series is Khelben alive? I have the code set up for banters, pid, friendship. Now working on story and timing of interjections.

2) Decided on using the following mechanics, unless I hear any requests:
a) Intoxication - drinking bottles, drunk effects, other dialogue, script drinking interaction