Skip to content

I want to dedicate 5 years to make NWN as a IE Campaign Mod for BG. Where do I start?

spacejawsspacejaws Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 389
edited April 2017 in General Modding
As the title says. I've wanted to get into modding for so long but never really had the time or motivation for it. My largest dissapointment around Neverwinter Nights is how detatched it feels from Baldur's Gate gameplay and I am interested in dedicating years to learn how to go about adapting the scenario to an IE game and eventually do so.

What are the recomendations on how to learn the modding scene from scratch and whether anybody would actually be interested in the idea.

Is it feasible? Should I begin my mad quest? (Has it already happened?!)
RavenslightStummvonBordwehr

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975
    for someone who has never modded before this will be an immensely daunting task

im still relatively new to the mod scene and I did a complete revamp of IWD/HoW/LotLM and let me tell you: it is NOT easy ( and those games are relatively easy to revamp since there is only 173 areas or so)

first, you are going to need to know NWN like the back of your hand and be able to play the game in your sleep, if you want it to have the true NWN ( every quest, every encounter, every item so on and so on)

second, I don't know how well it would translate over to BG since BG used 2nd edition rules, and NWN uses 3rd edition rules, so that would require a lot of tinkering, unless you try and make an IWD2 game use the mod ( because it has a closer rule set to NWN) but I don't know how good the modding tools are for IWD2 though

so with that being said, if you really want to make this mod ( which if somehow you were to actually complete it, in all honesty it would be amazing) there are some smaller steps you need to take

start off small, real small