Skip to content

Weidu won't compile anything

Wizer13Wizer13 Member Posts: 65
I'm new at modding. I don't even consider myself a beginner. Here's the problem:

I created an npc which i want to appear at the copper coronet in BG2. I managed to put the .cre in the override and change the script in the .are. so he may be created. So far so good.
Then i want to compile my .d text using Weidu. I followed the tutorial made by Alkarops, but each time i try my setup.exe weidu don't copy my files in the override, and its not because i didn't place my npc folder at the right spot. Hell, i even copied the text in his tutorial and tried just to implement his npc, just to see if i made mistakes in my coding, but to no avail. Weidu doesn't seem to detect my files.

I thought it was my version of weidu, so I downloaded the latest version, 239. No dice there.

I even tried to change my path and using a command prompt as suggested by Japheth but it says C:(Program) unknown. Any command i tried in weidu alone just give me a serie of codes as I press Enter.

I wonder if there's a problem with modding with a steam related game, or something like this. If you have a template of a .tp2 for implementing an npc that works i would be really grateful, or a solution to this mess. I really don't know what to try at this point.

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• PaulaMigratePaulaMigrate Member Posts: 1,201
    edited June 2017
    Latest version of Weidu is 2.40 http://weidu.org/~thebigg/weidu.exe even if that is not the problem here. Configuration

Make sure that
    - you have a folder mymodwhatever in the BG2EE directory and in there are your files (you may have sub-folders there for better structure as well)
    - you have mymodwhatever.tp2 in that folder and it correctly points to the files in your folder
    - you have made a copy of weidu.exe and this copy is named setup-mymodwhatever.exe and this exe is in the main BG2EE folder, i.e. at the same hierachy level as your game folder