Skip to content

Good 'n' Evil

Hello there.

I'm new to Baldur's Gate and still green on a lot of things despite completing the game on normal once.

Does anybody know what happens if you roll a Blackguard (or any class that's inherently evil) and do only good deeds? Do you suffer penalties or can you somehow roleplay your butt out of evil and thus have a more interesting experience?

I will be grateful for insight into this matter.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• ShikaoShikao Member Posts: 376
    edited August 2017
    Unfortunately BG series clearly steers you towards being good, because of how reputation system works. There are no penalties for being good (as in high rep) for good or evil characters, being evil (as in low rep) on the other hand is quite bad for all characters =/
    Post edited by Shikao on
    darko1beamdogArtonaThacoBell
  • darko1beamdogdarko1beamdog Member Posts: 31
    Thanks for the reply.

So does the reputation system work independantly of alignment, or do you, after doing good deeds as a Blackguard for instance, automatically "raise" your alignment to the neutral or even good ones?
  • PaulaMigratePaulaMigrate Member Posts: 1,201
    edited August 2017
    My opinion on this may differ from others, but I always felt about it like this
    - the *evil* that is in your character is mostly how others see you. You are drow or Blackguard or a red wizard from Thay - or bhaalspawn >>> so you are evil.

It is always part of at least my roleplay to have a character who *appears* evil but still can do the *right* things.
    If you play the trilogy to the very end, to the ToB finale, you will see that in the end it's your decisions and your way you chose through the game that counts, not some setting that has a lot to do with prejudice.