Skip to content

help me flesh out my party

First of all a little bit of my gaming background and plans. I suck at video games. I'm not a total noob, I played BG and ID back when they first came out, but I recently picked up the enhanced and am going to give it another go. I'm not a hardcore gamer looking to powergame or make several run throughs. I'm gonna play on one of the easier modes and still expect plenty of challenge. I want a good variety in my party but I still want it to be decent/viable.

I think I'm going to go with a half-orc berserker as my group leader, all muscle. 19 str 18 dex 19 con, low int and wis, maybe high charisma if I can swing that too.

After that, I LOVE assassins so I'd like to do an assassin. But I'm also aware that I might be better off doing a thief/fighter that's more focused on range. Like I said I'm just bad at games and at the strategies, and I seem to have a hard time setting up backstabs and such. So I'm a bit torn there, but I feel I probably only need one rogue and will go one of these two routes.

I also think I want a bard, mainly for the high lore because I finding wasting spell slots on identify to be a hassle. Not sure what else a bard is good for, but at least it adds a bit of character.

I really like the archer kit. And I also tend to like a simplified fighting strategy of a couple front line fighters for melee while the others sit back and do ranged attacks, so I was kinda thinking archer EVEN if I go with the thief fighter above.