Skip to content

Unable to get Server Posted to Server List

So I'm just trying to get a test server setup and showing on the NWN:EE server list, but so far I've been unsuccessful after several attempts over the last few weeks. I have a NWN 1.69 server running on a Windows 7 server on my network (192.168.0.10). Because of that, have been trying to use port 5301 for the NWN:EE server on my Windows 10 test server (198.168.0.2). I have the following setup for the router, Windows firewall, and NWServer itself. From what I can tell, port 5301 should be visible/accessible to the outside world......right?

However, when I launch EE and go to Join Internet Game on the test server, or from a laptop on my local network, I always see my external (static) IP for the server showing "Contacting Server" and grayed out, which eventually changes to "Offline".

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? I have been hosting a PW for the last 10 years, so I'm really confused that the normal methods I've used to get that displayed on NWN List aren't working for NWN:EE.

Comments

• TheGmorkTheGmork Member Posts: 37
    My advice would be to turn of Windows Firewall and rely on your Physical Firewall that is your router. If some one goes to the effort to get through the physical router, windows defender will only slow them down a little.
    If you do not want to do that, then remember that Windows Firewall blocks outgoing info as well as incoming.
  • JimbobslimbobJimbobslimbob Member Posts: 206
    TheGmork may be onto something there, try opening up the "advanced firewall" in Windows and create rules for all profiles for the executable for inbound and outbound and restart the server to try again.
  • IndyWendieGoIndyWendieGo Member Posts: 62
    edited December 2017