Skip to content

Combat log information

kaitenkaiten Member Posts: 19
Hello guys ! I am currently new to the game and I have problems to understand the combat logs. I tried to find info on the internet but every single person says different things in different years in the past so I guess things have changed with the new patches and so I decided to ask here what the logs actually show with the current patch on BG EE only. Ill give you an example. So my MC has base thac0 20, Str Mod -2, Str Extra Mod -1, Proficiencies +5/ guees that's a pentaly ?/, AC base 10 and Dext mod -4/ so its AC 6 in the end/, using simple staff as a weapon. The combat log vs a random enemy looks like:
MC : atack roll 10 - 2 = 8 miss; 19 - 2 = 17 hit !
The Enemy: atack roll 5 - 3 = 2 miss; 16 - 3 = 13 miss
So what I dont understand is what are -2 and -3 and why 8 is a miss, 17 is a hit / 2 and 13 are miss
I would appreciate If anyone can explain these to me. Thanks in advance !

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    Okay, combat in BG is based on THACO. Which means "to hit armor class 0". So if your thaco is 20, that means you would need to roll a 20 to hit an enemy with a 0 armor class.

So attack roll 10-2=8 miss. You rolled a 10 and then the game either adds or subtract bonuses based on your stats and proficiencies, you lost 2 points so it adjusted to 8. 8 was too low to hit the enemy based on their armor class.

The lower your thaco, the easier it is to hit enemies. So your base of 20 is lowered by 2 for your str stat, I think the str extra mod is for exceptional str (are you using a fighter?). The proficiencies +5 is indeed a penalty, you are unlikely to ever hit anything this early in the game with a penalty that large. You mentioned you are using a staff, did you not put any proficiencies in staves at character creation?
  • kaitenkaiten Member Posts: 19