Skip to content

Handling Random Elements

I'm kind of new to the game, only at act 4 with 1 character. However I read a LOT of stuff about it, everything non-spoilery actually, including gameplay mechanics.

Recenty- something bugged me in how I play the game.

I wanted to ask how you guys handle these random elements in your playthroughs. Do you reload or not?:
1. Succeeding/Failing to learn spells from scrolls.
2. HP increase per level (depending on class hit die)
3. General combat/encounters.

[If there are other random elements in the game- feel free to indulge what they are and how you manage them]

I feel like, in some cases, reloading breaks immersion and is not how the game was meant to be played.

[I know that never reloading is called "ironman" run and I think it's more of a challenge than how the game should be played.]

Reloading battles and encounters seems fair to me- it's part of the experience to fail and try again.

But what about learning spells from scrolls? I feel bad when I reload after I fail to learn a spell. The game doesn't have that mechanic for nothing. Doesn't it?

Same thing with level-up hp increase. If you're constantly reloading to get better rolls (or just mark the option for max hp rolls) then that mechanic is for nothing as well.

In short- I'm confused about what should be the authentic way to play the game the way it was intended.

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    1. I use a mod for 100% spell learn chance.
    2. I let hp fall as they may.
    3. If you know the mechanics well enough, its possible to almost completely eliminate random chance. (Can't do anything for early game bad hit chance).

As for the "authentic" way to play. This game gives you loads of options. Play however is the most fun for you.
    lost1
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    1. Potion of Genius

2. I just accept it