Skip to content

Amusing question - Heardalis or Dorn?

Hi, i am playing baldurs gate 2 first time since ages and decided to try some new NPC that i have never used before (except viconia). So my party for time being looks like

Me (sorcerer)
Korgan
Edwin
Viconia
Hexxat

and last slot i was thinking about Heardalis but I have met Dorn that looks pretty tanky. I know little about both characters but defensive spin of Blade, his versatility and bard's song is also tempting. Dorn however looks simpler and tankier and i know that ToB is more about big swords rather than spells. What are your thought about that? Whom would you prefer in such a company?

Comments

• Joan_DaroJoan_Daro Member Posts: 112
    edited July 2018
    Nope Dorn isn't a good tank he has 14 con and 156 max hp at 8m exp
    But Ir'revrykal (evil verson of the Holy Avenger) can be *really* useful in TOB. Just don't do his mission wrong.

That said, HD's off-hand equipment (which deals DEX damage) can also be extremely useful. Bard song also offer great AC bonus to the bard himself (-10 if memory serves right).

Also, given that you are a sorcerer and have Edwin and Viconia in party, it is possible to do TOB in a magic-and-spells way. Easier to blow Draconis up in seconds than have melee characters running around the whole map after him.
    Post edited by Joan_Daro on
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    Bards are the best class. Gotta have a Bard.
  • kicjowkicjow Member Posts: 2
    Joan_Daro said:

Nope Dorn isn't a good tank he has 14 con and 156 max hp at 8m exp
    But Ir'revrykal (evil verson of the Holy Avenger) can be *really* useful in TOB. Just don't do his mission wrong.

That said, HD's off-hand equipment (which deals DEX damage) can also be extremely useful. Bard song also offer great AC bonus to the bard himself (-10 if memory serves right).