Skip to content

Should Shadowdancer's abilities stay the same?

JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,725
edited September 2013 in Archive (General Discussion)
It's my first attempt to arrange a poll but this is a subject I cannot give the go-by.

A Shadowdancer kit has been added to the game with the latest patch. Many (myself included) started to use him at once. I very much appreciate this kit has finally appeared in BG.

Currently a Shadowdancer has the following features.

May not wear armor heavier than studded leather.
May not equip shields larger than bucklers
May only use the following weapons: long sword, short sword, katana, scimitar, dagger, club, quarterstaff, crossbow, shortbow, dart, sling.
May only become Proficient (one slot) in any weapon class.
May only become Proficient (one slot) in any fighting style.
May only distribute 15 points per level (30 at level 1) in thieving abilities: Open Locks, Pick Pockets, Find Traps, Move Silently, Hide in Shadows, Detect Illusions.
May use Backstab ability for increased damage
Level 1-9: x2
Level 9+: x3
Hide in Plain Sight: A shadowdancer may hide in shadows, even when being observed.
Can cast Shadowstep 1x/day for every 3 levels
Slippery mind: +1 bonus to Saving Throws
Hit Dice: d6

The most controversial decision regarding this kit is probably his ability to become invisible as soon as he hit someone with a backstab attack and became visible without any time required to cooldown. The only exception is when he fails to hide in shadows.

I like this feature the most. For me, it has changed the gameplay as a thief drastically - it alone enhances this game as I like to play with stealthy characters.