Skip to content

DRM

Comments

• JalisterJalister Member Posts: 146
    @Tanthalas - I understand the point, but I still see it differently. I actually have a C-64 and Amiga 500, and also some old PC floppies. They also had forms of media check which was known as copy protection back then. I still see a difference between copy protection and DRM. Copy protection was simply an odd pattern on the media that the operating system and software could not recreate, at least not easily. I don't classify Starforce and SecuROM as copy protection, since as I mentioned before, both install rootkit like software on your computer.

I can still fire up my Amiga 500 and play any game that I purchased, of which most of the developers/publishers are long gone.

All this still kind of misses the point. I buy software and movies. I don't need DRM or unskippable FBI warnings on the media I have paid for to let me know I shouldn't copy it. I started playing Inquisitor last night, which just released. How many times will I copy that game? Once, to my backup drive.

My movie spending has also gone down because of all the unskippable junk the studios put in front. I have 5 boxes of DVDs. My Blu Ray collection wouldn't even fill one box. My entire Blu-Ray collection will end up on my hard drives some day. I'm tired of being inconvenienced unnecessarily, having to jump through hoops, and having to maintain a list of all my site and client account information.

I'm working with one of my customers right now. She is having a problem running a program on one computer. They have 6 or 7 licenses they paid for. For some reason, at random, one computer keeps thinking the license is invalid so the program won't run. Now they are wasting time and money dealing with something they should not have to as paying customers. Had they pirated it, they would be fine right now, other than the risk of running an illegal copy. Now the vendor wants to charge them for support to fix the licensing problem.