Skip to content

New to BG

Hello everyone,

I am new to BG and to the forum. I have been an avid TES fan for many years and have meaning to check out BG for quite some time. I have searched high and low for games that rival TES and their open world non linear style of gameplay. My question is, how open is BG? Can you RP different chars and choose to avoid the MQ or is it more linear style gameplay?

Comments

• meaglothmeagloth Member Posts: 3,806
    TES?
    And shadows of amn is pretty non-linear, but I. Bg you'll run out of things to fido if you aren't doing the main plot. But you can definitely play different chars. The game as incredible replayability. A lot of the people here have been playing sense the games came out, arou 2000 (bg1 1998.)
  • FigginFiggin Member Posts: 43
    meagloth said:

TES?
    And shadows of amn is pretty non-linear, but I. Bg you'll run out of things to fido if you aren't doing the main plot. But you can definitely play different chars. The game as incredible replayability. A lot of the people here have been playing sense the games came out, arou 2000 (bg1 1998.)

TES= The Elder Scrolls.

I love to make new chars and role play them out on different adventures and hoped that I would not have to repeat the same events over and over again. I like to have differnt outcomes and consequences for my actions.

One major flaw I have with Skyrim, is that any choice you made in game, resulted in the same outcome.
    My computer is ancient and I had to sell my ps3, so I am looking for games that I can run from Steam and BG is on the top of my list.
    Flashburn said:

BG1 is the most like TES because there are a lot of open areas where there's just a whole bunch of nothing. You'll eventually run out of stuff to do if you avoid the main plot because there's nothing in it like housing or crafting.