Skip to content

So, how do you use contingencies and sequencers?

Howdy. The title says it all.

I am a vet BG series player going back years and years and have enjoyed the EE editions as well.

I consider myself quite adept at all BG can offer, but one thing I felt I have never quite used to good effect are contingencies and sequencers.

For sequencers, I just never seem to use them, and then I forget I have them stored. Like potions – I only want to use them in emergencies – but then I never use them at all and feel bad when I do! I also tend to double rest which seems like an abuse of power – I cast the sequencer, then erase the spell and re-memorize the spells I put in the sequencer. Doesn’t seem like smart adventuring when (for instance) chasing after one’s soul.

I just completed a fighter/illusionist run and was so powerful (although SCS made me less so) that I almost never needed to resort to sequencers at all – but I feel like I am totally missing a key element of BG enjoyment.

So: how DO you use sequencers? And under what circumstances? Do you always have the sequencer in your spell book and load it up before an encounter or just habitually have one ready to fire up right after a day's rest?

For contingencies, I usually load up a stoneskin and/or improved invis to activate when at 25%, but I don’t put that much thought into it. I feel like I am missing a good / fun tool here.

Alright: have at it.

Comments

• TressetTresset Member, Moderator Posts: 8,264
    Chain Contingency can be used offensively and there are almost no limits to what you can load it up with. I always have trouble deciding what to do with it.
  • SweetMagooMagoodleSweetMagooMagoodle Member Posts: 40
    All great ideas... keep 'em coming!
  • mumumomomumumomo Member Posts: 635

minor spell sequencer : I almost never use it since i always take the spell quite late with my sorcerers (stoneskin, improved invisibility and spider spawn being much more important for me)