Skip to content

Stupid question about my fan

O_BruceO_Bruce Member Posts: 2,790
I mean the fan that cooled down my PC until recently. He has stopped working on it's own and I, together with my roommate, think that it's dead for good. I don't know when I will have a new one, so until then I have a question.

Without working cooling system in my PC, can I still use graphical programs like photoshop/gimp without worrying about my PC going to overheat? And while I am well aware that newer PC games are of limits, what about older titles like, for example, Baldur's Gate?

My question might seem to be stupid, but I don't know when I will be buying a new fan. Since I'm total noob at computers, I don't think I could montage it without breaking anything in the progress.

Comments

• SilverstarSilverstar Member Posts: 2,207
    Surely there's more than one fan in your computer. There should be one on your CPU, one or several on your motherboard, at least one inside the PSU (hard or impossible to see probably), one on your graphics card and one or several on the computer casing probably. You do not want to use your computer if the motherboard and/or CPU doesn't have cooling. As for the rest, a simple solution for decreasing overall temperature is taking off the casing's side panels/walls. It will build up more dust that way though and naturally all kinds of things can make its way into the computer so if you have pets or children around that's not a very good solution.
  • SquireSquire Member Posts: 511
    You could download a program that monitors your system temperature. There are a few free ones around, just Google "CPU temperature monitor". I've never used one, though, so I can't verify how well they work.

And yeah, as Silverstar said, which fan is it that's died? There are a few.

Also, did you post this from that same computer in which the fan died?
  • O_BruceO_Bruce Member Posts: 2,790