Skip to content

Silver Sword Moral Quandry (Spoilers)

So I've just gotten back from the underdark and am now aware that the silver sword part I have has been stolen. I avoided contact with the Githyanki in the underdark after the mindflayers, and just got to Waukeen's Promenade where I was confronted by the Githyanki. (This is my first time this far into the game, as I re-rolled after getting to the underdark, replayed 1, and then restarted 2.) I had to go to work, so I left this for another time...

My quandry is that I'm playing a LG Monk who usually takes the most lawful good path (or at least tries to). On the one hand, the silver sword has been stolen from the Githyanki. On the other hand, it is a powerful item, and if I turn it over I will be handing it to a race of evil beings who simply attacked me without question and even quasi-betrayed me in the mindflayer's layer. I don't actually need the sword, since I don't have any two handed users (I set Keldorn free and chose Mazzy over Minsc).

Anyone want to weigh in?

Comments

• MathsorcererMathsorcerer Member Posts: 3,037
    The truly lawful and good path would be to realize that neither the Githyanki's attack on you nor their betrayal of you invalidates their rightful claim on an object, thus the proper course of action would be to return it to them. Yes, giving a powerful item back to evil creatures could result in tragedy but they should be given the benefit of the doubt--they may take their item and return home with it peacefully.
  •  TheArtisan TheArtisan Member Posts: 3,277
    edited September 2014
    Adding to the above, keep in mind that the githyanki are warmongers. A good character may be against giving them a powerful weapon that will more than likely lead to increased bloodshed.