Skip to content

BG II ee or planescape torment

Going to buy a game later today and I cant decide which (I will eventually buy both).

Played BG2 about 20 times and LOVE it.

Planesape I started playing and it was the weirdest/best gaming experience I've had. For some reason I just played 2 or 3 lvl ups, so it's kind of new......so what should I do......

Comments

• ErgErg Member Posts: 1,756
    Considering that, in my opinion, BGII:EE is not as good as the original BG2, I would say Planescape Torment.
  • HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    edited October 2014
    If you loved BG2 Vanilla, you will love BG2:EE. I had a great time with my first playthrough of BG2 Vanilla last year, but I disagree with @Erg‌ and feel that BG2:EE is an improvement on the classic.

I can't comment on PST cos I never got properly into it as I found the setting kinda weird.
    lunar
  • OlvynChuruOlvynChuru Member Posts: 3,075
    I definitely think that BG2:EE was an improvement over the original game, but the question is how much enjoyment it will give someone who has played the original BG2 so many times.

I'd say go with Planescape Torment. While I don't think it's the best game ever, it's still pretty great, but it's also a VERY unique experience. There is basically no game quite like it (until Tides of Numenera comes out, that is).
  • KloroxKlorox Member Posts: 894
    Erg said:

Considering that, in my opinion, BGII:EE is not as good as the original BG2, I would say Planescape Torment.

Why?

FYI: I've never played BGII:EE
  • KloroxKlorox Member Posts: 894
    OP: I loved both games. If you go for PS:T, give yourself a good WIS.
  • ErgErg Member Posts: 1,756
    Klorox said:

Why?

Because

1) being flashier is not an enhancement
    2) adding subpar new content is not an enhancement
    3) removing bugs just to add more bugs is not an enhancement
    4) decreased compatibility with mods is not an enhancement