Skip to content

Good morning!

I should probably say hello. I'm Luri. I got my username from Kulyok's Xan mod several years ago and it's stuck ever since; I am most of the Luridels on the internet now. (Luridel is the elven name for the planet Coliar; associated with Erevan Ilesere.)

I was probably nine or ten when I started playing Baldur's Gate. It was the largest obsession of my childhood. I wrote fanfiction over at the Attic when I was eleven, I remember looking up 'omnipresent' in the dictionary at my middle school's library and trying to find excuses to use it in conversation (Jaheira was my favorite character), and I (to my great embarrassment twelve years later) also once made a Microsoft Word document transcribing all the quotes I had heard the in-party NPCs say. This was thirty-something pages long... in fourteen-point Comic Sans.

I've never actually stopped replaying this game, although I swore by BGTutu for many, many years. I seem to have registered around the time when I bought the Enhanced Edition for my little brother, @OlvynChuru - but I had no memory whatsoever of these forums until yesterday when he showed me that he'd been documenting his jester playthrough, which I'd heard occasional stories about.

I would have loved to have an active forum like this when I was younger, and I'm delighted to have it now.

Confession: I have never actually beaten Throne of Bhaal. I can't stick with a playthrough long enough before I restart them.

Comments

• RavenslightRavenslight Member Posts: 1,609
    Welcome @Luridel I have really been enjoying your brothers playthrough. It’s wonderful to have you join us as well! I always like hearing about family members who share the love of these games.
  • rufus_hobartrufus_hobart Member Posts: 490
    Welcome, glad to have you around, and thanks for sharing your character Mariel's adventures with us as well. Of course, in my mind I'm now picturing an ultimate face-off between her and Olvyn's Halizurex... ;-)