Skip to content

If possible to solo the game, what does that say about using a party?

I'm new to playing BG (only in chapter 2 in BG:EE on my Android tablet), and been researching various class strengths etc and I see a lot of posts about those that play the game with a solo character.
Does this mean they never use a party to complete quests (other than possibly party specific quests for the XP) ?
If so, then wouldn't this making playing with a party of 6 super easy? or are maybe solo players able to exploit certain aspects of the game since they're so familiar with it?

Comments

• rickcrrickcr Member Posts: 77
    Meyahi said:

If you're new, I strongly advise you to play with a full party. If you don't know the intricacies of the game, it is hard enough. You would also miss out on a lot of interactions with NPCs some of which you can even romance!

oh trust me I plan to play with a party. I was just curious that's all. (The level explanation elminster provided makes sense for how it works.)

(I just can't decide what class I want to play. I want one that carries over well tof BG2, but I'll maybe start that discussion in another thread .)
  • MeyahiMeyahi Member Posts: 143
    edited January 2015
    Every class is fine and playable.
    You can never go wrong with fighter/mage multiclass.
    The only extremely weak class in BG1 until mid bg2 is monk (then slowly but surely becomes OP as hell).
  • WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    The best answer is that the power curve in D&D is exponential rather than linear. With only one character you level faster and get the sort of high level abilities that really trivialise the game.

This isn't such an issue in bg1 because of the level cap but with the ToB expansion in bg2 it can completely break the game.
  • MeyahiMeyahi Member Posts: 143
    Wowo said: