Skip to content

SPOILERS (potential) Siege of Dragonspear plot ?

So I was watching parts of the twitch video for the announcement of Siege of Dragonspear, focusing mainly on the gameplay portions and skipping over the various Q&As, when something occurred to me. The following is probably way off and may even have been disproven by someone else or during the Q&As I skipped.

SPOILERS, for SoD AND the other games! This is my first time posting on the forum, so I really hope the spoiler tab will work.

I believe Siege of Dragonspear will be connected in a plot-driving fashion to Icewind Dale. I base this upon one observation: At some point in the play-through, Abdel(*sigh*) meets an absent-minded dark druid, and, in a dialogue option I believe was unintentionally shown onscreen, Abdel(*sigh*) says that the purpose of the Crusade is (SPOILER!) to open a gate to the Nine Hells and release devils into Faerun. By itself, that's a HUGE SPOILER in my book, and I wish I hadn't seen it...

Now, if you're like me and have spent more time on Infinity Engine games than you care to admit, you might recall someone else with such hellish ambitions. I speak of course of our old pal Poquelin aka Belhifet aka IWD's mood-swinging narrator.

"But surely Belhifet isn't the only villain, devil or otherwise, with such dark plans in the Realms," you say. Well, maybe not, but a few things would, if not support, at the very least not contradict the theory that he may be involved. Like: