Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Axis & Allies 1942 Online is now available in Early Access! Buy it on Steam. The FAQ is available.
New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

[MOD] -NPC_EE- ... Non-Player Characters Enhanced, for Everyone!

13468916

Comments

  • jobbyjobby Member Posts: 181
    So I take it it would be possible to create a fighter/avenger multi class? I have always been curious as to how that would play.

    I take it you would still be limited to Druid weapons and leather armour?

    Would it be possible to make an evil one to utilise the human flesh armour?

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    Lots of things are possible with EEKeeper. Not as many things are possible with this mod. This is really focused on letting you give kits to NPCs who don't have them (e.g. the BG1 NPCs) and changing the kits of NPCs who do have them (e.g. the BG2 NPCs).

    Faiths & Powers, due to be released in a few weeks, will allow more possibilities with druids, including evil druids. (But not that exact combination.)

  • ThelsThels Member Posts: 1,325
    What would be required to change a character's kit with EEKeeper?

    Could one simply when recruiting the NPC, open EEKeeper, change the kit, reload, then level the character up? Or would all the bonuses up to then need to be adjusted.

    Say I run into Imoen at the Lion's Way. Could I simply give her, say, Swashbuckler? Or should I also make sure she has that extra +1 AC, and that she doesn't have Backstab? If so, how?

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    With this mod, you can very easily make Imoen a Swashbuckler. With EEKeeper you can do it as well, but I don't use it (I'm on a Mac) so I can't tell you how. But I've seen a number of threads around here talking about doing that, I think newer versions of 'Keeper make it pretty easy.

  • ThelsThels Member Posts: 1,325
    That was more of an example, though. I wanted to see Jaheira as a Fighter/Totemic Druid. Could of course make her a single class Totemic Druid, but that feels a bit cheaty.

  • nilfalasielnilfalasiel Member Posts: 4
    First of all, thanks a lot for your hard work trying to create a substitute for Lv1 NPCs! I just have one question: I understand that there's an option to simply drop characters to level 1 without changing their kit. But if I do that, then remove that character from the party, then go back to pick them up again later (I do that a lot), will their EXP stagnate? Lv1 NPCs had an option to realign NPC EXP to your own whenever they rejoined the party, and that was one of the main reasons I used it. Is that possible with this mod?

  • ThelsThels Member Posts: 1,325
    edited August 2016
    @nilfalasiel: The NPCs are scripted to receive an amount of experience based on Charname's experience the first time they arrive in the party. Once they've been in the party, they don't gain this experience boost at a later time. Likewise, wizards don't receive a boost in starting spells, either.

    Note that this script does not exist for Imoen (you're assumed to have her join the party before the first XP bump comes around). Also, there is a bug in the script, in that it does not register when charname is between 1000 and 1999 XP. As long as you pick up characters while you're over 1000 XP, and kick them out before you hit 2000 XP, they will receive an XP boost the next time you run into them.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189

    I understand that there's an option to simply drop characters to level 1 without changing their kit.

    Actually this option is no longer there. The basic workings of the mod have changed, now kit changes happen in-game, not during the Weidu installation. It's a much more flexible system in general, but it loses the "drop to level 1" option.

  • nilfalasielnilfalasiel Member Posts: 4



    Actually this option is no longer there. The basic workings of the mod have changed, now kit changes happen in-game, not during the Weidu installation. It's a much more flexible system in general, but it loses the "drop to level 1" option.

    Ah, I see. Do you think there's a possibility that you'll add it back in somewhere down the line? If not, I guess I'll have to keep waiting for an update to Lv1 NPCs. The "drop to level 1" option is too valuable for me to pass up, unfortunately :/

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189

    Do you think there's a possibility that you'll add it back in somewhere down the line? If not, I guess I'll have to keep waiting for an update to Lv1 NPCs. The "drop to level 1" option is too valuable for me to pass up, unfortunately :/

    It's not exactly that, but I just use BG2Tweaks/Tweaks Anthology's "TOB-style NPCs."

  • nilfalasielnilfalasiel Member Posts: 4

    It's not exactly that, but I just use BG2Tweaks/Tweaks Anthology's "TOB-style NPCs."

    What does that do? I remember having it installed, but I'm not sure I ever figured out what it did, precisely.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    It makes you encounter the lowest-level version of each NPC. Which is generally 1 or 2 in BG1, and 8 or 9 in BG2. It's not level 1, but it's good enough for me.

  • nilfalasielnilfalasiel Member Posts: 4
    Hmm...I guess that's not too bad.

    Oh yes, another question: it possible to reassign proficiencies with your mod? Or is it really just kits?

    My main problem is that, especially in BG2, I mix and match my party a lot so that I can do NPCs' personal quests (for EXP), which would mean EXP gaps when I get my final party together, if there's no way for me to realign their EXP with my character's. That's really why Lv1 NPCs was such a handy tool for me.

  • GrimLefourbeGrimLefourbe Member Posts: 635
    You can use the console to set their xp to your own anyway.

    C:SetCurrentXP() after selecting the npc.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
  • psycrospsycros Member Posts: 34
    edited October 2016
    Here's a weird one: none of the characters whose classes I changed via NPCEE-BWS can memorize spells. Khalid is CLR/RGR and Imoen is MAG/THF and they have no icon boxes for spells. Any chance this might be a conflict with the UI changes from EE UI Tweaks? I wouldn't think so but when I hover on the memorization boxes for characters that still have them I get no pop-up descriptions. Also, my main char doesn't get the option to identify items even when he has the spell memorized (its greyed out). As usual, I'm clueless and any thoughts are appreciated.

    Post edited by psycros on
  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    edited October 2016
    Level them up, the spell table should kick in. (I thought I dropped them to 1st level, and then gave them enough XP to immediately hit 2nd, for this very reason.)

    As for Identify with your PC, that doesn't sound related to this mod. What class are you? What kit? Are you a Conjurer or some other kit that can't use Divination spells?

  • evildevil97evildevil97 Member Posts: 64
    Any chance of adding compatibility to SoD NPCs?

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189

    Any chance of adding compatibility to SoD NPCs?

    Okay, I'm getting around to this... what exactly are you hoping to see? I think it should already work with SoD, for the most part (though I just ran into a nasty crash bug with Dynaheir).

  • BollywoodHeroBollywoodHero Member Posts: 89
    strange bug: I've change imoen to a bard but her kit options are those for a thief.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    @BollywoodHero what game? I just tested this on SoD, started a BG1 campaign and I could make Imoen a Jester...

  • BollywoodHeroBollywoodHero Member Posts: 89
    I installed the kits feature before installing the class changes. I verified that if I install in the "right" order it works as expected. However, perhaps unrelated but still a problem, Imoen starts level 1 able to memorize a spell for each level.

  • BollywoodHeroBollywoodHero Member Posts: 89
    Fyi, I'm playing bgee 1.3 on Android with rogue rebalancing, item revisions, spell revisions, SCS, tweaks and npc_ee

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    Ah yes, the kit script reads the .cre file's class, sobthe class changes have to go first. (someday I can improve that, but, so little time...

    Spell tables will work themselves out as soon as you level up.

  • BollywoodHeroBollywoodHero Member Posts: 89
    Excellent. Thanks for the mod!

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    edited November 2016
    Okay, I've updated this to v2.6:

    https://github.com/subtledoctor/NPC_EE/releases/tag/2.6.1

    This is mostly fixes and refining. The scripts for each class have been combined, so now it checks the character's class at the time you use the ability, instead of when the mod is installed. This means you can change someone's class after installing this, and the kit-change ability will follow along and still show you the right kits. So this won't be an issue anymore:
    https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/comment/827366/#Comment_827366

    Also, I have moved all strings from the .d files into the .tra so that this can be translated into other languages. If anyone wants to translate it, let me know. It should be quick and easy - the .tra file is only about 80 lines long.

    The only current issue is that there's something wrong with the sorcerer kit-change script... it displays mage kits instead of sorcerer kits, and choosing a kit has no effect. So I have disabled the ability for sorcerers, for now. :(

    Cheers!

    Post edited by subtledoctor on
  • ThelsThels Member Posts: 1,325
    Didn't you have this Wild Sorcerer kit idea? Or did you cancel that?

    Perhaps it may be an issue to hard-code the sorcerer options? Or alternatively, provide a warning that choosing a Mage kit for Sorcerers doesn't work as intended?

  • BollywoodHeroBollywoodHero Member Posts: 89
    Any chance you could add an option for valygar as a fighter? That way we can dual him to thief as an alternative to the multi class option already provided.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    Thels said:

    Didn't you have this Wild Sorcerer kit idea? Or did you cancel that?

    Apparently it never worked right to begin with. Between that and the recent sorcerer issues, I've just disabled it. As of now you'll have to use EEKeeper.

    Any chance you could add an option for valygar as a fighter? That way we can dual him to thief as an alternative to the multi class option already provided.

    Or to make him a Wizard Slayer, or something like that. That's a great idea, and unlike messing with mages and sorcerers, it should be easy to do. I'll put it on my list.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,189
    @BollywoodHero good news, I've updated the mod and in v2.6.2 there is now an option to make Valygar a single-class fighter.

    https://github.com/subtledoctor/NPC_EE/releases

Sign In or Register to comment.