Skip to content

Difficulty Recommendations

the_sexteinthe_sextein Member Posts: 711
I'm trying to kill some time until SOD so I decided to play IWD in the meantime. I purchased the EE version when it came out to support beamdog but I have not played the EE version yet. I beat the original IWD only once back when I bought it originally some 10 years ago.

My main problem with IWD was the lack of playable NPC's. I have a hard time motivating myself to build a full party of 6 and I find the lack of personality to detract from the game and the story since the characters have nothing to add to what is going on around them. I decided this time I would use IWD NPC v5 modification to help remedy the problem.

Now on to my questions:

I have beaten the BG trilogy using the hardest SCS settings on insane difficulty a few times. Given that I am using the IWD NPC pack and this is my first time playing IWD in 10 years what difficulty should I play on do you think? Would HOF mode be too much for a level 1 party? Should I play on insane but cancel out the XP bonuses? Should I stick to normal mode? Is there any mods available that I should use to increase difficulty or rebalance things so that the AI is more human like? Thanks for your time I would appreciate any feedback.

Comments

• WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    I'd recommend going for a sort of average party without any super powerful class combinations and then stick it on insane difficulty without the xp bonus.

Definitely have a bard, paladin and Druid along for the unique dialogue and quest rewards. 3 other single class characters will round it out nicely.

Even on insane you'll have an easy time if you have maxed out power gaming stats so try to have more realistic ones. My approach is to roll stats but to not use the + and - buttons and generally I discard any 90+ rolls and instead focus on getting decent scores in 2 primary stats.