Skip to content

IWD 2 > IWD?

theJoshFrosttheJoshFrost Member Posts: 171
edited September 2012 in Off-Topic
So, along summer, I was playing IWD for the first time, and I managed to get about 60% through it before getting bored. Go to town, return to dungeon, return to town, go to dungeon. It was immensely boring.

But, this weekend I bought IWD2 on GoG, and it's really pulled me in more than the first one has. You start from nothing and work your way up, your deeds are actually mentioned by guards and the people in the town, and I quite like the slight modifiers to gameplay with the 3rd edition rules.

Any one else share my sentiments? Why or why not? I know most people on this forum hate IWD, so I was curious if as many people hated the second one.

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Permidion_StarkPermidion_Stark Member Posts: 4,861
    I started playing IWD again recently hoping it would be better than I remembered. It wasn't. I gave up after coming to a dungeon complex where I had to fight an endless succession of bombardier beetles. My characters came through unscathed but I died of boredom.

Maybe I'll give IWD2 another go and see if I like that any better.
  • KenKen Member Posts: 226
    I really like IWD, but never cared much for IWD2. It was too hard to actually know if those skill points/feats did anything at all, and retarded things like Monk missing Monk animations.
  • WonKoWonKo Member Posts: 72
    IWD2 has stronger dialogue options (especially the prologue and 1st Chapter) but the latter stuff is probably on par with IWD1.
  • elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    edited September 2012
    I'm shortly after the ice palace in IWD2 and though in the prologue/first chapter it was good I've found that I've really lost interest in the next few chapters (I think I'm on chapter 3 but I could be mistaken). I liked the storyline of IWD more, though I will say 3rd edition adds some interesting aspects to IWD2.