Skip to content

I won't use Steam ever again

WardWard Member Posts: 1,305
edited September 2012 in Off-Topic
I am sad because I paid $30 for Stronghold 3 Gold and, being a Steam noob, I found their service to be one of the most obnoxious I've ever used. This is a reply to all the people who want BGEE on Steam.

Let me start from the beginning. I was never interested in Steam because of the DRM so I didn't investigate. I once bought a copy of Majesty Gold HD from GamersGate, the only other place to get it was Steam. GamersGate offered a no DRM copy of the game which I was able to freely use with no strings attached, similar to GoG.com, with a little installer of my own.

Because they trusted me I bought their game and I have enjoyed the fact that I own it very much. I expect to do business with them again soon.

Now let's talk about Steam for a moment. I didn't investigate it, so buying S3 I assumed that I owned it since I bought the hard copy and thought the Steam DRM only applied for their downloads.

When I tried to install the game I was faced with quite a harsh licensing agreement which told me, this being a not word for word quote, "You are entitled to the use of one copy of the Product". Hence, I don't own the game, I only own the right to play the game.

Do you people not think that is scary? That we no longer own the right to use the hard product freely, but legally, even when we buy the disk? We only own the entitlement to play it, we have no rights to use the product itself and unassociated with Steam.

So not only was I forced to have my privacy invaded by installing a 3rd party program I didn't want and sign up for something I wasn't planning to use again, but Steam installed itself into so many directories and the game ate up so much space which is now irrecoverable due to the sparseness of where it put the files.