Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Neverwinter Nights: Enhanced Edition has been released! Visit nwn.beamdog.com to make an order. NWN:EE FAQ is available.
Soundtracks for BG:EE, SoD, BG2:EE, IWD:EE, PST:EE are now available in the Beamdog store.
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

2 Years since i checked up on BG:EE are the black lines STILL a problem?

Downloaded the latest version from GOG 2.3.6.7.3 and was stunned to see these black lines again around the character sprite boxes.




I remember seeing this same problem right around the launch of SoD. Two years ago. Version 1.3 didn't have this problem.

I tried alternate renderer to no effect. Please tell me that with the passage of two years there is just something i missed some setting that are causing these black line boxes around every npc and pc.

SirBatinceBaptor

Comments

  • ChroniclerChronicler Member Posts: 774
    Might be a problem on your end. Don't think I've ever seen them while playing.

    AerakarStummvonBordwehrRaduzielmashedtaters
  • DoubledimasDoubledimas Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 1,159

    Downloaded the latest version from GOG 2.3.6.7.3 and was stunned to see these black lines again around the character sprite boxes.




    I remember seeing this same problem right around the launch of SoD. Two years ago. Version 1.3 didn't have this problem.

    I tried alternate renderer to no effect. Please tell me that with the passage of two years there is just something i missed some setting that are causing these black line boxes around every npc and pc.

    It could be that this is fixed in the 2.5 beta but that is only available at Beamdog/Steam so GoG would have to wait for the official release. I’ll fire up the beta and see if I can repro.

    Baptor
  • GloomfrostGloomfrost Member Posts: 242
    edited April 2018
    would appreciate any input. I am on a new graphic card and monitor since last time i saw this issue. Latest nvidia drivers etc. I am zoomed in to maximum in the game. The lines are not constant, they appear and disappear as the character sprite looks around.Like i said it is only with the newer UI well new to me. 1.3 didn't have this issue.

    Baptor
  • CurmudgeonCurmudgeon Member Posts: 57
    edited April 2018
    I've never seen those lines in my installation either.
    Sorry, I made a mistake. Disregard below.

    Open: Documents/Baldur's Gate - Enhanced Edition/Baldur.lua

    SetPrivateProfileString('Graphics','Use Sprite Outlines','0')
    [Line 48 in my current installation]

    Should solve your problem.

    Sylvus_Moonbow
  • ArunsunArunsun Member Posts: 1,581
    Have you tried the alternate renderers available in the options? Check the resolution in which you're playing the game too, this might be a cause.

    ThacoBell
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    You shouldn't have to use the lua file to disable the sprite outlines, its a menu option.

    Sylvus_Moonbow
  • GloomfrostGloomfrost Member Posts: 242
    edited April 2018
    yeah as i said in the original post, i tired the alternate renderers option to no effect. I was running the game originally at 2560 x 1600 on a 560ti card 2 years ago, now i am running it at 1920 x 1080 on a 980 card, both the monitor, monitor cable and graphics card are all new. The only thing that is the same is the MB and memory and of course i am running the GOG versions. Like i said 1.3 didn't have this problem for me. Honestly i hate the new UI the non circular elipses at the pc and npc feet just look so wrong, not to mention the walking speeds are still totally off from BG. I am so used to the classic and ee 1.3 UI's i guess i will just stick to 1.3 from now on :(

    oh i do remember posting about this and others had the same problems, i guess i need to look at my history or posts and get a link over here.

    Yep just as i thought here it is from 2 years ago

    https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/comment/737642#Comment_737642

    doesn't appear it was fixed :(

    Baptor
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    @Gloomfrost its definitely a problem that some people are having, I see it occasionally with largere (dragon) sprites, but not with anything smaller. So finding the root cause and fixing it would be nice.

    On an unrelated note, you actually LIKE the walking speeds of BG1?! You should post that in the "Unpopuar Opinions" thread.

    Balrog99mashedtaters
  • GloomfrostGloomfrost Member Posts: 242
    edited April 2018
    ThacoBell said:

    @Gloomfrost its definitely a problem that some people are having, I see it occasionally with largere (dragon) sprites, but not with anything smaller. So finding the root cause and fixing it would be nice.

    On an unrelated note, you actually LIKE the walking speeds of BG1?! You should post that in the "Unpopuar Opinions" thread.

    ThacoBell! You must have seniority around here now ;)

    Glad to hear this is a legit problem in 2.0 and up UI's. For some reason i saw it immediately in the first CandleKeep exterior map. Just thought in 2 years Beamdog would of fixed the issue with it. :/

    As for the walking speed well that's why they invented the The Paws of the Cheetah B)

    Seriously good to see you still active around here.

    Post edited by Gloomfrost on
    lolienThacoBell
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    @Gloomfrost "ThacoBell! You must have seniority around here now"
    Now THATS a scary thought :smile:

    I almost wish the issue was more consistent, just so it was more obvious what was wrong. I seeing on only a couple sprites, but others see it constantly, ugh.

    Also, its always nice to know that I don't annoy everybody ;)

  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 18,011
    Thanks for your feedback, everyone. The developers will look whether it's possible to fix this for the 2.5 patch.

    Baptor
  • GloomfrostGloomfrost Member Posts: 242
    Hallelujah! So glad the devs are aware of this now, looking forward to a future fix.

    JuliusBorisov
  • SharGuidesMyHandSharGuidesMyHand Member Posts: 2,471
  • ChroniclerChronicler Member Posts: 774
    edited April 2018
    Wow that was quick. Was that literally just because this thread brought it to their attention a couple weeks ago?

    Edit: No, reading the bug report more fully it looks like they've been working on that since 2016. The timing is just coincidental.

    mashedtatersGloomfrost
  • BaptorBaptor Member Posts: 184
    These lines show up everywhere too. I've seen them across bodies of water and in the menus, especially around the spell icons in the spellbooks.

  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    @Baptor What version are you playing on? And on which platform? I'm on the latest patch on pc and see black lines very rarely. (Sometimes they show up on dragpns, but that's about it.)

  • BaptorBaptor Member Posts: 184
    ThacoBell wrote: »
    @Baptor What version are you playing on? And on which platform? I'm on the latest patch on pc and see black lines very rarely. (Sometimes they show up on dragpns, but that's about it.)

    I'm on a live Steam version, so the latest version 2.5 whatever it is now. It automatically updates.

    However I should mention that I see the lines mostly on the old Blue UI - I deleted SOD so I could play without the new black UI and the lines are just about everywhere there. They sometimes show up as boxes around character sprites, around the spell icons in the spell books, in bodies of water, and sometimes along spell effects too.

    I recently reinstalled SOD and the black lines are fewer but still extant. One on the spell Invisibility's icon and the ones in the water which never go away. One also in High Hedge that cuts through the big crystal.

  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    That's strange, I don't get those. Have you tried the alternate renderer in the options?

  • BaptorBaptor Member Posts: 184
    ThacoBell wrote: »
    That's strange, I don't get those. Have you tried the alternate renderer in the options?

    The alternate render seems to help, but creates a new problem that makes the game unplayable for me. If I go to the map (where it zooms out) the game sticks in outdoor areas. I have to ctrl+alt+del out and come back for it to unstick each time.

    I gave up on alternate render after a chapter or two because I couldn't handle it anymore. However - and this is important - the lines and sprite boxes were still there, just not as frequently as before. So it wasn't a true cure.

    What's crazy is that it's not always reproducible. Just tonight I was in the cave after escaping the crypts under Candlekeep. In the battles, every enemy had a black sprite box around it. It was horrible. I got through it, saved, re-loaded a previous save and went in again to get screenshots and guess what? No spriteboxes this time. NO reason for it.

    So the lines just appear and disappear inconsistently.

    I did get a screenshot of some of the spriteboxes or lines around these spiders. You have to enlarge the picture to see them, but they are around the spell graphics.

    y7y81vujxbp6.png

    ThacoBelltypo_tilly
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 8,844
    Is it possible it might be a hardware/software issue? Like, some combination of graphics card and your computer might not be playing nice with BG? When the game first launched, there was an issue with certain graphics cards having fits withh EE.

  • BaptorBaptor Member Posts: 184
    ThacoBell wrote: »
    Is it possible it might be a hardware/software issue? Like, some combination of graphics card and your computer might not be playing nice with BG? When the game first launched, there was an issue with certain graphics cards having fits withh EE.

    Anything is possible. But I never had this issue back in 1.3 and I didn't have any issues up until the Siege of Dragonspear patch, 2.0 I think. I played SOD when it came out with no issues and hadn't returned to the original game since that patch until now - and I'm having issues. I've been playing BG:EE on the same PC with the same hardware since 2014.

    I will mention one thing. I DO alt+tab a lot to check the internet for things - could alt+tabbing be causing the issues? I will try to play my next session without doing it.

Sign In or Register to comment.