Skip to content

Very new BG2EE player. Don't know what I'm doing. Need some help please.

BadSorcererBadSorcerer Member Posts: 23
Hi there,

I have recently started playing BG2EE for the first time. I am playing SOA v 2.6.6.0 on PC.

I guess I am an old school gamer? A long time ago I played PC RPGs like Fallout 2 but I have never played a game based on D&D rules (and I haven't ever played any D&D in real life either). My comfort level is more Diablo 2 hack n' slash-type games. I can tell I am not very good at BG2EE.

I really want to play keep playing BG2EE because I've heard so many good things about it. But I'm not a strong player, and after playing BG2EE for a little while I now feel stuck and would love some help.

I would like to apologise in advance for my ignorance of D&D and for asking questions that probably have obvious answers.

My current status: I have a party of very low level characters, and I have managed to get out of Irenicus' dungeon. I have managed to work out how to travel to places on the World Map when locations are revealed to me via quests. I have thus far made progress in fights by using a "brute force" approach. I am not strategic enough, don't know how to get the best out of each class, and don't know the counters to spells by enemy mages. My main character is a Sorcerer but I'm just really using Magic Missile and Orb again and again.

How I am stuck:
  1. I've got to the point now where the "brute force" isn't working anymore. Any quest/high level fights I get into, the members of my party keep saying "my weapon has no effect". I've tried reading up on this and it seems like I need to get weapons that are +1, +2, or +3. I have no idea where to get these, do you buy them from shopkeepers?? Some of the enemies I am unable to damage include trolls, golems, Shadows, but there have been others too.