Skip to content

For the love of god help me understand ho to play this game

Ok so i'm new at this whole D&D rules stuff and i'm getting my ass kicked, i really want to play this game as it is regarded as one of the best RPG's of all time but i just don't understand it.

First i would like to read a basic guide on D&D, second i would like advice as to how to play BG II, and also i want specific advice on how to defeat "shades", i'm doing Hexxat's quest but the tomb is FILLED with shadows and ghosts that i just can't hit with normal weapons, but my mages aren't strong enough to beat those things consistently.

Thanks in advance.
BlackbɨrdAerakar

Comments

• BroninBronin Member Posts: 29
    edited March 2021
    https://www.pocketplane.net/volothamp/home.htm
    The above link is for the Infinity engine games (the original games rather than the Beamdog enhanced editions). Still, I think it is a good guide and should help.

You need magic weapons for "shades". The spell scroll enchanted weapon provides a cheap early option if you don't have much money. A mage can scribe the scroll (unless they are an Invoker). A potion of genius is recommended to increase the chances to scribe scrolls without failure then you can use the spell afterwards upon resting.
    Post edited by Bronin on
    Grond0ArviaJuliusBorisovAerakar
  • DGDKamiDGDKami Member Posts: 34
    All right guys thanks for the advice, let me look for those magic weapons then
  • BelfaldurnikBelfaldurnik Member Posts: 212
    The learning requirements are kinda high for this game. There are many pitfalls, not limited to foes with innate abilities and immunities.

Your best friend would be the huge PDF manuals for this game. Additionally, the Wiki - and perhaps old walkthroughs that add some strategies/tactics for specific tasks/quests.

And ultimately, play slowly, cautiously and with attention to detail. It is not a hack'n'slay game, unless you activate Story Mode.
    PokotadunbarJuliusBorisovAerakar