Comments

• ChurchOfBooChurchOfBoo Member Posts: 82
    edited December 2012
    OOh cool, they've applied for expedited review. I hope it goes this well:
    http://coderun.net/the-apple-app-store-expedited-review-process/
  • senzasenza Member Posts: 10
    edited December 2012
    Illydth said:

I work as a Sys admin for a fortune 250, allow me to correct some overzealous ignorance here.

Definitive deadlines only lead to problems. Both for the development staff and for those looking for the deadlines.

When a developer sets an arbitrary deadline by giving definitive information (For Example: "We'll have a build ready to go by Monday and we expect the expedited review to put the software up by Wednesday"), they set a line in the sand they MUST meet.

What happens if at 11:00pm Sunday Night (or 7:00 AM Monday Morning, or whenever you think the "by monday" deadline is) they find a bug that will affect a significant number of users? Do they then post "Oops"? How many people do you think THAT will turn off? WHat happens, then, if at 11:30 they find a quick fix to the problem and then have to post "Oops again, never mind!" and again 15 minutes later another crash bug comes up?

Software development and trouble shooting is a fluid process. You NEVER know as you dig into a problem how deep or wide that problem will extend. Any deadline you set is ARBITRARY until you have the full scope of the problem identified...and by that point posting a status is immaterial because you're almost done with fixing the issue anyway.

It's also inadvisable for the customer/client to be paying attention to definitive time lines. How many people are pissed off because they were expecting the release on a certain day? How many times have you heard people on WOW's boards or somewhere else going "I took the day off for this and now I can't play WAHHH!!!!"