Skip to content

Deity for my human Assassin (Female)

So I am rolling a chaotic evil assassin I am new to D&D in general I like developing a background for my character. I am having trouble picking a deity for my assassin.

I was thinking of lolth (not too sure since she is a drow patron but it seems others can worship her) I picked her because her portfolio she has evil, spiders (I like spiders), darkness, chaos and assassins (chaos and assassins is the main two I am looking at hence why I picked her).

Plus she is chaotic evil(same alignment as my character) I am posting this topic to run it by people who know a lot more about D&D since I am a newb.

Oh to get it to work in the framework of the baldur gate story she does not worship her outside of the gate it happens a long the way.

Comments

• mlnevesemlnevese Member, Moderator Posts: 10,214
    An obvious choice for a human assassin would be Bhaal himself or Cyric.
  • shinrosshinros Member Posts: 8
    But bhaal is kinda of well dead isn't he? Plus cyric is kinda my enemy since I am a bhaal spawn no?
  • FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511
    You can still worship a dead deity. You just won't get anything for it.

You might try Mask, or even Tymmora.
    Er mask is kinda dead I swear (not too sure) Plus tymmora won't fit because she is chaotic evil. One deity I forgot about was shar and she fits the bill for assassins.

How about her?
    Sry for the double post I mean my character is chaotic evil so Tymmora won't fit.
  • MadhaxMadhax Member Posts: 1,416
    Mask is dead-ish now, but if memory serves he doesn't kick the bucket until several years after the BG saga, so he's a legit choice. Shar can work too.

Lloth is heavily drow-centric, and I can't imagine any non-drow worshipping her.
    Yeah I agree unless I was rolling an elf/half elf choosing lolth would not make much sense reading up on shar I think she will fit the bill for my character.