Skip to content

Problematic classes and kits in low level

mlnevesemlnevese Member, Moderator Posts: 10,214
I was just playing BGT and decided to try something that I had never tried before. A half-orc berserker...

Now the berserker special hability is nice, but you get -15 HP when the Berserker ends. My 19 con berserker has exactly 15HP, so using his special hability means intant death when the effec is over on level 1.

Also I remembered when I tried to play a Kensai and a Monk and discovered it was quite difficult to keep them alive as level 1 chararacters...

I can see a complete newbie quite pissed that his level 1 berserker died for using his enrage hability to fight the wizard that attacks you in te Friendly Arms Inn or bored because his monk has to run from foes all the time...

So what other classes/kits do you see as problematic at low levels and what can be done to fix them? Or should nothing be done at all? Maybe a warning when creating the charachter?

Comments

• SolyarisSolyaris Member Posts: 24
    use parties in a party-balanced game?
    recklessheart
  • mlnevesemlnevese Member, Moderator Posts: 10,214
    Sure, but how does it prevent a newbie from creating a character that will die if he uses his special ability, regardless of the party?

Not everyone has been playing this game for years or have any knowledge of 2nd editiod AD&D system mechanics.

Anyone who has played thsi game know to wait until at least 2nd level BEFORE trying to rage, but we can't expect a complete newbie to know or even realize that.

Some warning should be given the first time a player creates a Berserker, for instance.
    edited August 2012
    @Dazzu

That hadn't even ocurred to me :) Instant immortality :)
  • AmardarialAmardarial Member Posts: 270
    Dazzu said:

Step 1: Use the fixed werewolf form in BG1
    Step 2: Take no damage from ANYTHING
    Step 3: ???
    Step 4: Profit!