Skip to content

[BGII:EE] Global translation status (with %) and a professional translator perspective on it

DeSangreDeSangre Member Posts: 16
Hi all, as you all know by now, Beamdog, publisher of Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition, decided to follow the "free" crowdsourcing road regarding the translation of BG2EE. Some days ago it became known that the translation of new material for Italian sums up to approx. 400.000 words.

All translated for free. Or should I say: "not" translated "yet".

In any case, I feel it's important to give everyone a professional translator point of view on the matter at hand.
I've been working in the industry for over 15 years, so I know what I'm talking about.

On a side note, it would be great if translators from the different languages could provide us with a words breakdown of every language involved and how far they are from completion. I won't always keep this post updated, but I will if I have the time. Completion percentage should match the last edited date for this post.

Italian: About 25%
German: Less than 10%
French: ???
Spanish: approx 50%

Ok, lets go!

1) TIME
- A professional translator averages about 2,500 words in 8 hours of work.
- 394.241 words, divided by 2,500, is 158. So it's 158 days of work for a single translator working full-time.

More than 1260 hours of work. And here we are, of course, considering a professional translator speed, not the probably slower amateur one.

These are big numbers. We're not talking about translating a indie game in a week: this is a -huge- effort.

Was the community alerted of the number of WORDS that had to be translated? Did the community know it would've been a very time consuming task, spanning over many months, if not years?

2) COSTS
Do you know how much a translator gets paid for 400.000 words? About 20.000 Euros.
Do you know how much a publisher pays for such a translation, delivered and reviewed by a professional agency? About 35k-38k Euros, maybe more.