Skip to content

Are Party No-Reload Runs a Challenge?

I've never tried a No-Reload Run before. But I think a solo run might be too difficult. So, to ease myself in, I was planning a No-Reload Run with a party.

Is this still reasonably challenging?

Comments

• ArdulArdul Member Posts: 211
    Absolutely. There is also the minimal reload variant, where you only reload if Charname dies.
    JuliusBorisovjackjackCrevsDaak
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,714
    Well, if you look at the number of failed attempts of party no-reload runs by many and many of us here, your doubts will be vanished: yes, it's a challenge, and a good one!

In fact, due to the exceptional speed of levelling up when soloing, a party no-reload run can be much more difficult than a solo one.

Of course, several classes/kits make a solo run the hardest (a wizard slayer, a druid, a monk in BG1) but overall, after making many solo- and party- runs, I tend to think that a party no-reload run is as challenging as it can be.
    FinneousPJBlackraven
  • PibaroPibaro Member, Translator (NDA) Posts: 2,989
    If you:
    1) Don't use mods like SCS
    2) Resurrect party member
    3) Use Charname as a ranged attacker (or a ranged spell caster)
    4) Abuse potions of invisibility (and stuff like that) for charname
    5) Give to Charname some useful items to prevent effects like charme, confusion, chaos, stun and similar.

Than you can definitely have a no reload run.
    It's going to be a challenge, but not a too hard challenge.

Remember to be careful with charname, because the only rule in this simple no reload attempt is: Charname must not die!!! The other party members are expendable.

Soloing makes most battles a lot easier, but one single mistake can kill you, while without SCS with a party you can stay in the backlines almost all the time without risk.
    Blackraven
  • YgramulYgramul Member Posts: 1,059
    edited August 2014