Skip to content

Is this starting party decent/is a dedicated cleric necessary?

StormvesselStormvessel Member Posts: 654
I love my party - I thought it looked great, but then I see that most players who have played the game have a dedicated Healer. I have a Cleric, but not a dedicated one. I went with a Gnome Illusionist/Cleric multi and I'm wondering if I will have access to enough high level priest spells. I was thinking of going with a dedicated Cleric but I decided I wanted a little more firepower. Now I am thinking if the multi is redundant because I have a sorcerer and will only keep me from good Priest spells. Here is my party makeup (this is my first time playing through IWD):

Cavalier

Str 18/60
Dx 18
Cn 18
Int 13
Ws 13
Ch 18

Half-Orc Berserker

Str 19
Dx 18
Cn 19
Int 11
Ws 11
Ch 10

Elf Archer

Str 18/97
Dx 19
Cn 17
Int 12
Ws 14
Ch 12

Gnome Swashbuckler

Str 18
Dx 18
Cn 18 (extra shorty throw)
Int 11
Ws 17
Ch 8

Gnome Cleric/Illusionist

Str 14
Dx 18
Cn 16
Int 19
Ws 17
Ch 7

Elf Sorcerer

Str 18
Dx 19
Cn 16
Int 12
Ws 16
Ch 12

I was thinking this looked good but after several hours of rerolling I am beginning to think perhaps I should have went with a dedicated Cleric. I have an amazing Priest of Tempus that I generated but I wanted access to a tad more spells because I was going with a sorcerer (which develops slower) instead of a mage. Also I figured the Paladin and Ranger would provide some support spells towards the end of the game. But I can't help but wonder if I am going to miss out on too many high level Priest spells. I thought I would ask this question now lest I invest too much time into the game only to have trouble.

Edit: Earlier typo on sorcerer scores. Fixed.
Post edited by Stormvessel on
JuliusBorisov

Comments

• Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,211