Skip to content

Ultimate Sorcerer Spell Selection Guide

Hi, I'm a professional Icewind Dale:EE player and I thought I'd make a guide for choosing the most powerful spells for your sorcerer. I know there have been discussions on this topic before, but they're all wrong. So to help fight the spread of misinformation and to provide a helpful resource for newer players, here are my picks for the best spell for each level:

Level 1 - Infravision
No contest here, this is one of the best spells in the game, and it's available right from the start! Icewind Dale is a very dark game at times and the ability to make things glow in the dark should not be underestimated.

Level 2 - Detect Evil
There are a few other very good spells here, such as protection from petrification, but for me the choice is clear. Icewind Dale is a very deep game with complex characters making this spell essential. How terrible would you feel if you accidentally killed a good lizard man, or a friendly boneguard skeleton. This spell has also, on one occasion, saved me from complete catastrophe. I once cast it and found an evil person hiding within my own party of adventurers, undoubtedly biding his time, waiting for the perfect opportunity to stab me in the back. However, I was able to take him out before this could happen thanks to this wonderful spell.

Level 3 - Clairvoyance
This let's you see the entire map in any outdoor area. Knowledge is power. I probably don't have to say anything else to convince you how insanely powerful this spell is.

Level 4 - Farsight
Level 4 is pretty crap in terms of spell selection, not much to look at here with the notable exception of this great spell. Farsight and clairvoyance together is one of the most powerful combinations in the game. Don't be fooled into picking wizard eye instead, farsight is much better.

Level 5 - Contact Other Plane