Skip to content

First general impressions of playing BGEE with SoD

LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,318
This is my first time playing a BGEE game with SoD installed and it's very early on the game.

First let me say that I'm definitely a fan thus far of SoD's graphics and UI improvements. I was a little thrown at first by things that were preset like the sprite outlines, gray on pause, and show accessible areas on the maps. Not that they were particularly off-putting or anything, but I did shut them off. It's been years since I played BGEE and I don't remember the zoom feature allowing for making the sprites as big as they seem now. But in any case if we can now increase the size a little more, I like it. And again, I dig the new UI features. Very nice.

And I have the game set at Core Rules... and I can't imagine that the gameplay has been nerfed in any way by SoD... but it is really proving to be a cakewalk thus far:

Just in the mood for something different, I'm running a custom multiplayer party

- Bhaalspawn human Transmuter who will dual to Fighter, melees with a quarterstaff, and uses Alteration spells exclusively except for buffs like Shield and Armor, etc.
- Wizard Slayer who is a dart thrower - ** darts ** single weapon style
- halfling F/T - ** sling ** single weapon style
- half-orc Shaman - * club * sword and shield style (can equip only a buckler)
- half-elf Bard - *crossbow * shortbow (but uses crossbow exclusively)
- human stalker - ** axe ** scimitar/etc. ** two-weapon style (mainly hurls throwing axes but can dual-wield axes or scimitars in pinch)