Skip to content

Help with Umberlee Temple (Did I screw up?) - Game-breaking bug?

OK, so I'm new to the game. First time player.

I hate knowing too many things before hand, so yeah I avoid reading guides, wikis, spoilers etc which means my party is not optimum, the gear is what I came across etc and all these things are just fine by me.

However, this will sometimes put me in a bad spot, specially in regards to game breaking quests.

My PC is a Paladin (not very smart either as he's constantly trying to make the "right"/"chivalrious" choice even when he doesn't know for sure who is lying to him), and on his first visit to Baldur's Gate (new to me as well, btw), he stumbles into the Bitch Queen's Water something-something, and he is told by the chick at the door that he's not supposed to be in there.

Now, these women are evil, it's an evil temple, and both my character and I are curious to take a look around, so he promptly tells her that he wants nothing to do with her religion, ignores her altogether and decides to pace around, see what's inside. They went hostile. Paladin does what paladin does best: smite evil.

Here's the problem: apparently, the evil temple is needed for a couple of quests. I didn't even spawn their head priestess, I just slaughtered the evil bitches on the spot before any of these quests even started. AND my party is going to die soon from poisoning.

Did I break the game?

Comments

• ArtonaArtona Member Posts: 1,077
    I'm afraid that might be the case. You can summon the antidote, however, using console.
  • VolatileVolatile Member Posts: 81
    edited July 2017
    Bummer.

I looked it up on the wiki, and apparently killing Tenya wasn't a smart decision, either. The fishermen told my paladin that she was a witch, so he travelled up north, found her standing by the door, talked to her for a bit, cast Detect Evil, she turned red, and sure enough he smacked her to a bloody pulp.
    Sounds like you are roleplaying saint Dirty Harry. ;)