Skip to content

PTEE: Getting Party Members Killed causes an Alignment Shift Towards Evil

rokujoladyrokujolady Member Posts: 7
I was a bit surprised last night when my alignment changed to Chaotic Evil. I hardly ever chose the "LIE" option in dialog, I don't kill civilians, and I try not to backstab NPCs too much in the story.
I don't want to be chaotic evil, though I did get a steam achievement for it.
I realized that every time I get a party member (any party member) killed in battle, which I do a lot because I'm not very good at this game, my GOOD alignment variable gets -1.
So, In Curst Prison, I go talk to the Deva, and I enter the cheat console.
C:GetGlobal("GOOD","GLOBAL") and the value is -9
I go into the prison, and Dak'kon is killed by the guards.
C:GetGlobal("GOOD","GLOBAL") and the value is -10
Grace gets killed by the guards, same battle.
C:GetGlobal("GOOD","GLOBAL") and the value is -11
and so on.
Is this expected behavior? I realize that there is a fine line between incompetence and evil sometimes, but this doesn't seem quite right.
Gate70JuliusBorisov

Comments

• Gate70Gate70 Member, Developer Posts: 3,870
    edited May 2017
    Thanks.

I don't believe it should do that. Will dig around and see what else happens when companions die.

edit. Four variables look to change as below.

Lady, +1
    Good, -1
    Law, -1
    Murder, +1
    JuliusBorisov
    edited May 2017
    As a temporary measure, you could paste this command into the console on first death and rerun it each subsequent death. Not great, but it would prevent unintended consequences where there are lots of companion deaths.
    C:Eval('IncrementGlobal("Lady","GLOBAL",-1)');C:Eval('IncrementGlobal("Good","GLOBAL",1)');C:Eval('IncrementGlobal("Law","GLOBAL",1)');C:Eval('IncrementGlobal("Murder","GLOBAL",-1)')
    I checked with this command
    C:GetGlobal("Lady","GLOBAL");C:GetGlobal("Good","GLOBAL");C:GetGlobal("Law","GLOBAL");C:GetGlobal("Murder","GLOBAL")