Skip to content

Hebrew Translation

TorgrimmerTorgrimmer Member Posts: 331
Howdy all, As you all know if you read my profile/new member thread (https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/68115/howdy-and-hail-from-icewind-dale#latest), I am 31 and on disability here in the States for a tumor and seizures, but i failed to mention that i have a Master's Degree in Biblical Studies, 5 yrs of study in the translating and study of the Hebrew language and if we want to do a Hebrew translation of BG1 to start off and then if it takes off move forward with the rest of the titles. I like to get some feedback from the community on this first though.
joluvZaghoullolien[Deleted User]

Comments

• joluvjoluv Member Posts: 2,137
    It'd be nice to have, but I wouldn't expect the demand to be strong enough to justify the effort. There just aren't all that many unilingual Hebrew speakers out there, relatively speaking. I'm also not sure whether there's support for right-to-left text.
    Torgrimmer
  • tbone1tbone1 Member Posts: 1,985
    joluv said:

I'm also not sure whether there's support for right-to-left text.

That is built-in for the Mac and, IIRC, most versions of Linux. Whether the IE engine would need modification is a question for the likes of @JuliusBorisov

Torgrimmerlolien
  • TorgrimmerTorgrimmer Member Posts: 331
    tbone1 said:

joluv said:

I'm also not sure whether there's support for right-to-left text.

That is built-in for the Mac and, IIRC, most versions of Linux. Whether the IE engine would need modification is a question for the likes of @JuliusBorisov

Yes tbone1 is correct here; There are a few programs which are supported here. I am not sure for the IE engine, the Devs "@juliusBorisov" would have to confirm, but there are ways around it, but I could also talk to some of my buddies at the seminary i currently study at, working on my PhD. We might be able to work something up.
    [Deleted User]