Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Axis & Allies 1942 Online is now available in Early Access! Buy it on Steam. The FAQ is available.
New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

How to format your posts

1356710

Comments

  • LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,264
    edited January 2013
    testing
    glowing text
    (hmm, seems only to work in IE.)

    Post edited by Lemernis on
  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited January 2013
    @Lemernis, if you are looking for the same sort of glow effect that can be seen around the site, use class="glow" in a span tag.

    Example: Glow Glow.

    Or you can do your own colour by using styles: text-shadow: [Horizontal] [Vertical] [Blur Radius] [Shadow Color].

    Example: Red glow, blue glow, green glow, yellow glow, pink glow.

    You can use the default class="glow" on this site with any tag for the sake of simplicity.

    Examples:
    This is a quote
    Underscored text
    Italicised text
    Bold text
    Bold and Italicised text

    I would only suggest using it on headers, however.

    (If that's not the case, ignore me :D)

    If you use anything else, like filters, then it is likely that it will only appear in Internet Explorer. For maximum compatibility, use styles:

    This should work in most browsers.


    Post edited by Troodon80 on
    AndreaColomboErgJuliusBorisov
  • LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,264
    edited January 2013
    Thanks Troo!

    I'm experimenting with various tags out there on the interweb. I have IE, Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and Opera installed, but somewhat to my surprise I have ended up gravitating to Opera as my favorite browser. Anyway, nice to see that the glow effect works with Opera.

  • LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,264
    edited January 2013
    image

    animated cyclops!

    < IMG SRC="url for animated gif" (remove the space after the left arrow bracket)

    Post edited by Lemernis on
  • IgnatiusIgnatius Member Posts: 586
    edited January 2013
    test

    ...

    Post edited by Ignatius on
  • LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,264
    edited January 2013
    See here. These are the workhorse tags that I use. There's a lot more HTML tags that could be added than those, to do fancier things. But just figured I'd share.

  • MetallomanMetalloman Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,975
    edited March 2013
    Ok, guys, I have a question:

    Why when I tried to use the < pre > function to post this:


    Example 1


    then it goes like this:


    Example 2

    shouldn't this function keep the formatting options? Where I'm wrong?

  • JalilyJalily Member Posts: 4,681
    @Metalloman Text within the <pre> tag is in a different font, one where each character takes up the same amount of space. Compare that with the usual forum font where characters are mostly different widths.

  • MetallomanMetalloman Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,975
    edited March 2013
    Hey, @Jalily! :D

    Yes, I've seen that < pre > tag uses a different font, I just wonder how can I do to mantain the same thing I want to show if it changes the font...have you any suggestion?

    EDIT: ...and what are those <br /> tags? I see also that some lines are not in the right order, as I've not pushed the Enter key to go down...they just continue on the same line, instead..

  • JalilyJalily Member Posts: 4,681
    @Metalloman You can try pasting your diagrams in Notepad, which uses a monospaced font by default (Courier New) and adjusting them there before putting them back in the <pre> tags. That's what I do. :)

  • MetallomanMetalloman Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,975
    Uhm...so, as you've said I should not have problems creating diagrams in notepad then pasting in <pre> as they have the same spaced fonts? Thanks for the info, @Jalily!!

    I should have thought it before! XD

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited March 2013
    @Metalloman,

    Ok, guys, I have a question:

    Why when I tried to use the < pre > function to post this:

    Example 1

    then it goes like this:

    Example 2

    shouldn't this function keep the formatting options? Where I'm wrong?

    Here are a couple examples based on your links.

    Situation A - Scroll all up:
    ---------------------
    | ____ ____ |
    | | 1 | | 2 | |
    | ''''''''' ''''''''' |
    | ____ ____ |
    | | 3 | | 4 | |
    | ''''''''' ''''''''' |
    With the pre tag, you have to be careful with the spacing. The spacing most likely won't be as it appears in the comment box, so make sure to use the preview regularly :).

    Notice in this one where the formatting stays as it should be; font, bold, and underlined are displayed as normal.

    In that example, I have used tabs to get the spacing - it is difficult, almost impossible, to get the spacing right without using a monospace font, which is why tabs are necessary. You cannot use tabs in the comment box, though, which means typing out what you want and using tabs in something like notepad, then copying it into the comment box. If you want the same example but using the monospace type font, then the following is an example.

    Situation A - Scroll all up:
    ------------------------
    | _____ _____ |
    | | 1 | | 2 | |
    | ''''' ''''' |
    | _____ _____ |
    | | 3 | | 4 | |
    | ''''' ''''' |
    In this example, you can see that the spacing looks off (quote to see the text), but it appears fine. Each item, the boxes and spacing at the edges, has four spaces separating them. Again, make sure you make use of the preview if you want to use a pre tag.

    This is how the text for that example should appear in the comment box:
    ------------------------
    | _____ _____ |
    | | 1 | | 2 | |
    | ''''' ''''' |
    | _____ _____ |
    | | 3 | | 4 | |
    | ''''' ''''' |

    Not terribly neat, but the monospace font fixes that.

    Optional examples:

    If you want to use the same font that is used in the posts rather than the monospace font, then use inherit - example:
               This is some text within a pre tag.
    This is some more text, but with more spacing at the beginning.
    Or, if you have a font in mind, you can set it to that instead.
               This is some text within a pre tag.
    This is some more text, but with more spacing at the beginning.
    If you want to use the pre tag without the border and padding, you can change that, too - here is an example:
               This is some text within a pre tag.
    This is some more text, but with more spacing at the beginning.
    Note that if you use different fonts, the spacing will need to be accounted for.


    or
    is a break line, or new line. Example:

    This is some text;
    This text is separated by a
    tag.

    You shouldn't be getting
    tags by default when posting. However, the most likely reason for this occurring in your case is due to the <----- arrow. This occurs when the website assumes you are starting a HTML tag, but doesn't detect a closing digit.

    Example:

    <------ Some text over here.

    <------ Some more text.


    You should be able to overcome this in two ways. One, by adding a closing digit to your arrow, example:

    <------> I'm pointing to some text.

    <------> There's more text over there.

    Alternatively, use <:

    <------ Some text.

    <------ Some more text.

    Post edited by Troodon80 on
    MetallomanJuliusBorisov
  • OneAngryMushroomOneAngryMushroom Member Posts: 564
    Testing spoiler
    I think this is right

    lolien
  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    @Dee @ScottBrooks (no idea who deals with this stuff).

    Is it just me, or do the spoiler tags appear to be broken?

  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    Testing the spoiler tags.

  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    Looks like they're working, they just start out unhidden--which is certainly not what we want!

    Troodon80
  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited June 2013
    @Dee, the reason I asked is because when looking into it, I found that the /plugins/Spoilers/css/spoilers.css is no longer linked in the head (which is the cause of the loss of formatting and the visibility issue), so I wasn't sure if it was just me or not. Apparently not.

    Yay, they're back :).

  • ScottBrooksScottBrooks Member Posts: 687
    I added the CSS specifically.

    Troodon80
  • JonSnowIsAliveJonSnowIsAlive Member Posts: 196
    edited July 2013
    Is LaTeX supposed to work around here? Let me try:

    $$\prod_{j = 2}^n j = n!$$

    $$f(x) = \tfrac{\lambda^\alpha}{\Gamma(\alpha)} x^{\alpha - 1} \exp\left(-\lambda x\right)$$

    $$\mathbf{E}[X] = \tfrac{\alpha}{\alpha + \beta}$$

    Now let's see... will edit right after posting if need be...

    EDIT: Damn... does anyone know, @Dee maybe, if this can be achieved?

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited July 2013

    Is LaTeX supposed to work around here? Let me try:

    EDIT: Damn... does anyone know, @Dee maybe, if this can be achieved?

    Simple answer: no. No LaTeX support here.

    It's just basic HTML (with styling) here. Having said that, if you want to be really clever, like I do on occasion, then you can write all the styling and get most of the different sorts of equations in HTML.

    Example:

    baseline ∞∑n=0xn baseline


    If that seems like too much hard work, then I would suggest creating an image of the equation.

    JonSnowIsAliveErglolien
  • JonSnowIsAliveJonSnowIsAlive Member Posts: 196
    @Troodon80

    First of all: WOW! I wasn't aware you could create such cool effects out of simple HTML script. Though, looking at the source code, I think I would get mad trying to type lenghty equations that way.

    I thought maybe MathJax was installed somewhere on the servers, too bad! Still, you are right again, working with images probably is the best solution available around here.

    Anyways, thanks, you really did put a smile on my face :)

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited August 2013
    @JonSnowIsAlive, this one will most certainly put a smile on your face, then.

    f(x) = a0 + ∞

    n=1(an cos nπx
    L +bn
    sin nπx
    L
    )


    I can occasionally give the appearance of being intelligent. :D

    This forum software is surprisingly agile and modular, allowing for all barring the more advanced CSS such as hovering and CSS5 transitions (both due to requiring a style class).

    Or the HTML version of your own equation:

    nj=1 j = 1 + 2 + 3 + … + n =n(n+1)
    2

    Post edited by Troodon80 on
    ErgVirrenlolien
  • taltamirtaltamir Member Posts: 288
    it would be awesome if, IN ADDITION to the current formatting, the site also support standard bbcode.
    that is [quote], [q], [b], etc

    kaguanaRnRClown
  • ApplesoupApplesoup Member Posts: 7
    sorry but testing spoiler

    my spoiled child

  • AlexisisinneedAlexisisinneed Member Posts: 470
    edited November 2013
    Testing

    image

    Post edited by Alexisisinneed on
  • shrekdjshrekdj Member Posts: 50
    edited November 2013
    Font Tag
    < font size="5" face="arial">Text< /font>

    Example:
    Arial
    Arial Black
    Comic Sans MS
    Courier New
    Georgia
    Impact
    Times New Roman
    Trebuchet MS
    Verdana

    Youtube
    http://..www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bHwTDl231A

    Looks like this,



    Image Resize
    < img src="http://cdn2.dualshockers.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Baldurs_Gate_EE_Box.jpg" height="100" width="100">

    Size 200
    image

    Size 500
    image

    Size 800
    image

    Post edited by shrekdj on
  • shrekdjshrekdj Member Posts: 50

    It seems BBcodes do not work
    [b]1[/b]
    [i]2[/i]
    [u]3[/u]
    [s]4[/s]
    [size=5]5[/size]
    [color=white]6[/color]
    [center]7[/center]
    [quote]8[/quote]

Sign In or Register to comment.