Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

How to format your posts

1457910

Comments

  • Eadwyn_G8keeperEadwyn_G8keeper Member Posts: 541
    edited February 2016
  • Son_of_ImoenSon_of_Imoen Member Posts: 1,763
    Is there a way to make tables that look good in this forum software?

    Not the tables with four legs that you put your dinnerplate on, but a table like this:

    - A
    - B
    - C
    - D
    - E

    or

    1. A
    2. B
    3. B
    4. B
    5. B

    I'm looking for a way to put extra spaces between the lines move the whole table a bit to the left, like when using bullet points in a text editor like Word.

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    @Son_of_Imoen, not entirely sure what you mean. You want an indent (as referred to when you said "a bit to the left"), I assume? Or do you mean line spacing between lines (as referred to when you said "extra spaces between the lines")? Or both?

    If you're looking for an indent, you can just use a standard list and remove the bullet point instead of using a table. Or you can use a DIV element and give it extra padding.

    Should you want a table instead, then you can see one I made earlier.

    If you can clarify your usage, I can give you a better reply. :-)

    lolien
  • Son_of_ImoenSon_of_Imoen Member Posts: 1,763
    edited February 2016
    @Troodon80 As my Office software is in Dutch, I found it hard to find the proper English way of saying it.

    But what I meant was (attempt at clarification:) a standard list with bullet points, with a linear spacing of about 1 1/2. Or with numbers instead of bullet points if there's a definitive order in what I try to say. And with an indent (I got the left and right mixed up, sorry for that).

    But what's a DIV element?

  • Son_of_ImoenSon_of_Imoen Member Posts: 1,763
    edited February 2016
    Thank you @Troodon80, that's exactly what I'm looking for!

    I'd like to give you an Insightful, Agree and Like all at once for your effort.

    *edit: and I tried it out straight away

    JuliusBorisovTroodon80
  • brusbrus Member Posts: 944
    Is it posssible to change the gradient of background in the post?
    Now it's black/grey, devs have blue/black. How to change it, for example, to black/red ?

  • lolienlolien Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,083
    imagelolien Posts: 10000
    Mushroom.

    Testing.








    You can quote me @brus . Change the color value [rgb()] for experimenting with various background.
    Black-red should be rgb(10,10,10), rgb(160,20,20). Also you find a purest code here








    Testing.


    image
    image
    image
    image
    image
    image
    image
    image

    brusJuliusBorisovRodrian
  • lolienlolien Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,083
    edited February 2016
    Now, my advice is to use this feature just on rare occasions, it can get swiftly irksome for other forumites, when it's overused.

    Edit: also, if you place the orientation of the gradient background as i did it above, you can't edit your own post anymore...

    JuliusBorisov
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 19,752
  • brusbrus Member Posts: 944
    edited February 2016
  • AbelAbel Member Posts: 740
    Isn't there an editor that outputs a forum friendly formatted text but has GUI inputs? I don't like typing in all tags, especially when it's just to underline or embolden some text.

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    I don't tend to worry that much about the time it takes, but there are a few WYSIWYG editors out there. Kompozer hasn't been updated in a long time, but you could try that. Aside from that, there are probably browser extensions you could get.

    lolienAbelJuliusBorisov
  • brusbrus Member Posts: 944
    edited March 2016
    @booinyoureyes , this is the new list.
    [list=1]
    [*] Boo
    [*] Booo
    [*] Boooo
    [/list]
    
    1. Boo
    2. Booo
    3. Boooo

    JuliusBorisovbooinyoureyes
  • AbelAbel Member Posts: 740
    edited March 2016
    Thanks @Troodon80, will try!
    Seems I just needed to ask to get embedded formating! Yay !

    lolienJuliusBorisov
  • argent77argent77 Member Posts: 2,809
    edited March 2016
    Let's see what works:
    Bold text
    Italic text
    Underlined text
    Strikethrough text
    Font: serif
    Font: sans-serif
    Font: cursive
    Font: fantasy
    Font: monospace
    Colored text: #FF7F00
    Colored text: green
    Text size: 0
    Text size: 1
    Text size: 2
    Text size: 3
    Text size: 4
    Text size: 5
    Text size: 6
    Text size: 7
    AAT
    Unformatted link: http://unformatted.link
    Formatted link: Formatted link
    Unformatted wiki link: wiki-page
    Formatted wiki link: Formatted wiki link
    Email: [email protected]
    Image: beamdog.png
    Horizontal rule:
    Forced
    line break
    Centered text
    Left text
    Right text
    Indented text
    Text in code style
    
    Quoted text
    argent77 wrote:
    Quoted text with reference to user
    argent77 wrote: »
    Quoted text with reference to specific post
    • Unordered list 1
    • Unordered list 2
    1. Ordered list 1
    2. Ordered list 2
    • Unordered list 1:
      • Nested entry 1
      • Nested entry 2
    • Unordered list 2

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    As a note—it appears that posts made prior to the switch to BBCode retain their formatting, so if you need to edit a post it'll still be in HTML.

  • ErgErg Member Posts: 1,756
    edited March 2016
    ???
    addfasfsg
    dssgdgdf
    sfdsdsgg
    

  • ErgErg Member Posts: 1,756
    edited March 2016
    ???
    addfasfsg
    dssgdgdf
    sfdsdsgg
    

    It looks like the mere presence of a spoiler tag is enough to alter the behaviour of the code tag.

    Edit: now it works fine.

    Post edited by Erg on
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 19,752
    Troodon80 wrote: »
    As a note—it appears that posts made prior to the switch to BBCode retain their formatting, so if you need to edit a post it'll still be in HTML.

    When I looked through https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/40963/baldurs-gate-siege-of-dragonspear-previously-known-as-the-adventure-y-project#latest I found the opposite - the formatting of posts is off. Also, have a look at the OP in this thread - the formatting there is completely off (it isn't retained).

  • wubblewubble Member Posts: 3,156
    It took me long enough to figure out the last system :(

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    edited March 2016
    @bengoshi,

    Not sure what you mean; in what way was it opposite? I just added HTML to this post and it worked fine when I saved it. Note that many old spoilers are still broken.

    Post edited by Troodon80 on
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 19,752
    Oh, I got what you mean - you mean that to EDIT the pre-change posts we need to use the old formatting way, right? But to edit the pre-change posts in terms of spoilers we need to change brackets.

  • Troodon80Troodon80 Member, Developer Posts: 4,110
    @bengoshi, yes, for those old posts you'll need to change to <div class="Spoiler"></div>.

  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    We're switching over to a WYSIWYG editor. It also supports Ctrl-I, Ctrl-B, and Ctrl-U commands.

    You can switch back to HTML-view if you prefer, and WYSIWYG uses HTML.

    And spoiler tags should still work.


    BenArledgeTroodon80Abelkaguana
  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    edited March 2016
    <i>What happens if you use HTML tags in a WYSIWYG editor?</i>

    LET'S FIND OUT.

    EDIT: Okay, so if you enter HTML when you're in WYSIWIG mode, it doesn't do anything. However...


    If you enter HTML in HTML-view, it'll work. See?

    JuliusBorisovAbel
  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447

    This is a heading, apparently.


    This is a Heading 2.


    There is no Heading 3.

    Or is there? (typed in HTML)

  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    Want to see something really neat?


    How to do cool things

    Here are the steps:

    1.     Open a Word document

    2.     Type your post how you want it to appear

    3.     Copy the whole thing

    4.     Paste it into your post.

    JuliusBorisovlolienAbel
  • lolienlolien Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 3,083
    edited March 2016
    Yes, i tried to change the broken spoiler tags in one of my thread with changing the old spoiler tags, as Dee suggested above too, by copying in notepad ++ . But if i changed it to this form: < div class="Spoiler" > < /div > , just the first spoiler tag showed up, the others didn't appeared, three dot showed up instead. I tried the extended spoiler code, what Troodon mentioned somewhere, but with that the body of the post were too long, so i could not save the edit. I didn't find a proper solution yet. Should i move the entire post in a new discussion?

    Edit: I see just now, that what Dee mentioned is a completely different method. My question still remained however.

    AbelJuliusBorisov
Sign In or Register to comment.