Skip to content

Party Makeup & Bard Efficacy/Mechanics

I am starting a new multiplayer game with a friend, each of us handling (3) characters, he is taking responsibility for meat shield tanking (dwarven defender probably), a wizard, and probably a straight up cleric, and I'm responsible for party leadership, melee DPS, thief skills, and missile fire. I'm a BG1 and 2 vet, and usually do some combo of:

-Beserker most likely, maybe Barb, Half-Orc, 2H or 2W
-Fighter/Thief: Elf, Longbow, Longsword, Party lead (will try to get decent Char)
-Wizard

I will probably disregard a Paly since I'm just tired of the lower melee DPS output at higher levels, and I realize that I'll miss out on the good Paly sword.

My questions are:

1. General thoughts on the best way to achieve my goals/responsibilities?
2. Is it worth it to replace my wizard with a Bard? If so, what type of Bard? How do Bard mechanics work anyways, do I have to actively play songs, or can I just turn them "on" and go about my business of using a crossbow, casting, melee, etc.

Comments

• JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,725
    Hello, @TeddyLatharge‌ and welcome to the forum!

There're not many mage scrolls in IWD and they are not so easily affordable as in BG1 and BG2. So I would advice to have only one wizard in the party.

Bards rule in IWDEE. Skalds and vanilla bards are the best because of their songs. They help so much. If you want to enhance your battle power, "DPS" as you call it, a Skald suits. You have to actively play songs and can't use anything else if you do (if you attack, use a spell or an item, you stop singing). And yet bards contribute so much to your party. Check http://cdn.icewinddale.com/files/IWDEE_Manual_2_-_Mastering_Melee_&_Magic.pdf for certain song effects.