Skip to content

Most fun PC thief?

So, now that I'm back to my old BG2 addiction, it's time to do stuff I've never tried before, namely some sort of PC thief. Here are the options:

Multi-class

fighter/thief: crazy backstabbing, but repetitive. Would bore me fairly quickly.
mage/thief: never was much of a Jan fan (except for the banter), because I don't abuse Mislead and felt his backstabbing was poor due to terrible thac0. He was always relegated to archer and backup mage. Also, very weak at the start.
cleric/thief: now this interests me! Perfect scouting and disarming with Sanctuary. Decent base thac0, lots of buffs to lower it and inflict nuts backstab damage with hit and fade. Can switch roles in a pinch and heal the party under Sanctuary or cause havoc with spells. Decent from the get go. RP-wise, could be a Mask-worshipping gnome, kind of like a less loopy Tiax.
fighter/mage/thief: takes too long to develop in a full party.

Kits

bounty hunter: of all the thief kits, this is the only one that might interest me in the long run, as the special traps have many tactical uses. I've always tired of PCs without spellcasting though.

Dual-class

Not a fan of dual-classing due to the downtime. I like my PCs to be fun from start to finish.

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • aj_aj_ Member Posts: 9
    Yea I went with the cleric/thief, gnomish, and gave him a mage appearance so now he looks like Friar Tuck with his staff. Made a macro with my mouse software for one-click thieving.
  • WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    Mage/Thief multi is one of the best multis in the game.
  • mrb101mrb101 Member Posts: 66
    i have read a lot that a mage/thief is great as you can abuse mislead and backstab but i always found their thac0 was to poor to hit often
  • WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    mrb101 said:

i have read a lot that a mage/thief is great as you can abuse mislead and backstab but i always found their thac0 was to poor to hit often