Skip to content

Melee hit-and-run?

Greetings fellow adventurers

Long-time BGer here, though I'm afraid I'm not too experienced with D&D itself.

I understand BG tries to import the per-turn gameplay from the pen game and fuses it with real time "action", which mixes the whole thing into a fun videogame easy to pick up.

However I've always had this question with melee combat; since the APR is set in stone and relies on rounds (especially with the cosmetic attacks and all), if you have a melee character fighting a melee enemy, could anyone explain to me why you shouldn't just land your blow, retreat and wait the round out, then land your next blow and kite the enemy over and over again? In other words, you just move away during the cosmetic attacks and only attack again when your hit is "refreshed".

I've been "abusing" this for a while and I'm starting to feel bad about it. It almost seems like cheese. Of course you can't really do this against ranged opponents, but it's a decent way to fight ghasts when you solo.

Cheers!

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975