Skip to content

Kuo-Toan and Paralytic Bolts

I tried searching around for this and maybe I'm not good at the whole "search" thing, but I didn't see exactly the same topic discussed, so I'll go ahead and boldly ask =)

In BG2, I've always tossed the Kuo-Toan and Paralytic (Sahuagin) Bolts since they have no enchantment level and there are quite a lot of them after the Underdark.

But based on a few hints here and there I get a feeling I may be missing something:
  1. Situational: perhaps these bolts are effective in otherwise tough encounters with creatures who cast Protection from Magic Weapons but then neglect to cast Protection from Normal Weapons or Protection from Normal Missiles?
  2. Base damage: Most bolts have a base damage of 1D8. Kuo-Toan and Paralytic bolts go up to 2D6 and 1D10. Is that ever enough to really make a difference?
  3. Savings throws: Kuo-Toan and Paralytic bolts require a save versus spell or save versus paralysis respectively. Perhaps this makes a difference?
  4. Launcher: Firetooth (from Sister Garlena at Watcher's Keep) fires +4 enchanted ammo (unless you put other ammo in it). The Army Scythe (formerly Crossbow of Speed, from Bernard in the Copper Coronet) adds an extra attach per a round. I'm actually torn between the two.
  5. Alternatives: Maybe it's better not to use crossbows at all and use (say) shortbows instead? This is another topic I realize. To be honest, Imoen is my primary crossbow user, but most of the time she has Melf's Minute Meteor's equipped which so far seem superior. I mainly just wanted one character to burn down the stockpile of crossbow ammo.
  6. Ammo: I should have paid more attention, but I now realize that most bolts have no enchantment including Bolts of Biting and Bolts of Lightening. I always assumed these are better than Kuo-Toan and Paralytic bolts. I guess Bolts of Lightening at least do some lightening damage if the target makes a save versus breath.