Skip to content

The Politics Thread

Comments

• Grond0Grond0 Member Posts: 7,436
    The world would be a 'poorer' place if people only saw education as a way to make money.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited March 2019
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
  • Balrog99Balrog99 Member Posts: 7,371
    Grond0 wrote: »
    The world would be a 'poorer' place if people only saw education as a way to make money.

I agree. However, those folks who don't see it as a way to make money still need to pay for it!
  • FinneousPJFinneousPJ Member Posts: 6,455
    Grond0 wrote: »

Of course, but it's not like the only choices are "only a way to make money" or "not caring at all about making money". I studied biomedical engineering because it's interesting to me and I suspected it would make for a great career. If I only cared about money I would have gone into finance probably, but I know I would have found it much less engaging. FWIW I'm still in the top 10% of earners in my age group.
  • AmmarAmmar Member Posts: 1,297
    edited March 2019
    Even if we teach children that STEM degrees are the way to go now, it might be different again in the future. Sometimes there is just an element of bad luck as well.

In Germany there was one generation (about ~5 years) of graduates in Chemistry which had extreme difficulties to find a job as the main chemical companies (e.g. BASF and Bayer) were not hiring at the time, and when they started hiring again they preferred the fresh batches of graduates.
  • semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    Encouraging STEM degrees by itself isn't enough. We also need to provide funding for R&D in these fields so graduates can make use of them. The private sector isn't the only one that stands to gain from hiring scientists. A lot of talent is wasted because competition for grants is stiff and funds are limited.
    edited March 2019