Skip to content

Of BG and analysis paralyses...

Some fifteen or so years ago, I started playing BG, and have played it intermittently ever since. But for me, "play" is defined as make a bunch of characters, barely play any of them, delete them, uninstall, reinstall, repeat. There furthest I've ever gotten is the bandit camp, and I've only made it that far, once!

I even had a druid once with a stat total of 99, and that wasn't even good enough. He was deleted within a week.

I've read too much choice can paralyse someone like me.

I really want to enjoy this game all the way through. How do I break this cycle? How do I pick a character and keep it?

Does anyone have any advice?
QuartzAerakar[Deleted User]lost1

Comments

• Humanoid_TaifunHumanoid_Taifun Member Posts: 1,055
    I feel like you have not yet really described your problem. What exactly makes you delete your characters?
    Are you agonizing over the worry that they might not be perfect?
    Do you grow bored of them?
    ElysianEchoes
  • ElysianEchoesElysianEchoes Member Posts: 475
    @Humanoid_Taifun , I'm not really sure. There are just so many neat characters possible that I always am wondering about what a different character is capable of. So maybe it is something like may not be perfect? I don't think I play one long enough to get bored with it.

@Raduziel , I wouldn't know where to start with mods as I only have a tablet right now. Mods also would increase the available options, and might just make it harder for me to pick something. Rotating runs just ends up as fifty saves outside candle keep gates lol. But planning a character to become attached to it? You might have something there. I had the same sort of problem paying PnP, also, but not as out of control.

Thanks for the responses.
  • jsavingjsaving Member Posts: 1,083
    edited March 2019