Skip to content

Cartoons and Anime

2»

Comments

• semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    Dr. Tran is a real American hero. He's also a real doctor.
  • semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    Would you guys like to fill out a survey about attitudes towards adults watching cartoons? A student from Singapore is doing a small study.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/StarVStheForcesofEvil/comments/c6lgn8/a_form_i_came_up_with_regarding_older_audiences/
  • mlnevesemlnevese Member, Moderator Posts: 10,214
    I always wondered why Anime intro music is always so happy when the world is about to be destroyed...
  • StummvonBordwehrStummvonBordwehr Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 1,356
    the whole disagreeing about the Golden Age time frame left me pondering about my stance. I also saw it as a present golden age.

I am no expert, but I have seen my share:
    I have watched cartoons in my youth, with kids I ha stepfathered, with nieces/nephews and with a kid of my own.

I have to agree that there has been some awesome shows I’m the past, and I was absolutely blown away when I saw Samurai Jack. So was the golden age then, or the shows before then?

I don’t think that cartoons in general can be compared that easily. Cartoons for kids 2-4 years, surely differ from those for 10-12 years old - and even anime for grown ups. And perhaps there have been different golden ages for the age appropriate cartoons?

I have a 6 year old. The quality shows (if one can say that) today are just miles ahead of the “ slap stick badly drawn doodles” that smaller children where treated to just 20 years ago.

The now a days cartoons for the older children are probably not leagues ahead - if ahead at all. Samurai Jack is still awesome, but the Hannah Barbera stuff not so much....