Skip to content

IE modding wiki

AlonsoAlonso Member Posts: 806
edited August 2019 in General Modding
UPDATE: I've already created the wiki. For now it's almost empty, but hopefully it will start to grow soon. You can see it and thinker with it here:
IE modding wiki

I'm quite new to the modding wiki and I feel overwhelmed by the huge amount of information about IE modding scattered across countless forum threads in dozens of websites. I'm thinking that it might be very helpful for all of us to compile in a wiki the knowledge that has been accumulated over the years. I've never created a wiki before, but I think many of us would enjoy giving it a go. I believe there are several websites that provide hosting for wikis for free, so money shouldn't be a problem.

What do you think? Does it make sense?
Post edited by Alonso on

Comments

• OlvynChuruOlvynChuru Member Posts: 3,075
    There is already a website with a ton of Infinity Engine modding information: the IESDP Index.
  • AlonsoAlonso Member Posts: 806
    I know, but the IESDP index is a repository of technical reference information that you can use once you know how to do the modding. It doesn't include information about, say, how to program in WeiDU, how to use tra files, etc. The wiki wouldn't copy the contents of IESDP, rather it would give information about how to use those resources (and anything else related to IE modding).
  • fearlessfearless Member Posts: 40
    There was a wiki years ago, based on one of the IE websites I think, might have been shs or g3, which did have interesting and useful information about the game engine. Stuff like the starting area - what files are used for that (could be useful for total conversions etc), files used for the gui, engine limitations and other useful things.