Skip to content

Do you still like to party?

When I started playing BG I always kept a full party of six when adventuring, these days I almost always solo or form a dynamic duo with Imoen. I've tried to go back to having a group of six but somehow it just seems like too many people. Plus they seem to have real problems getting through doors.

Anyway, I got to wondering what others prefer. Do you like to party or go it alone?
  1. Do you still like to party?52 votes
    1. For me it is a solitary pursuit.
        9.62%
    2. Two is company (three is an unnecessary drain on EXP)
        3.85%
    3. I like a threesome.
        3.85%
    4. Four for me. It's the classic D&D party size.
        9.62%
    5. Five. I keep a spare slot for emergencies.
      11.54%
    6. I like a six pack.
      61.54%

Comments

• tbone1tbone1 Member Posts: 1,985
    It's usually five so I can have other characters come and go as appropriate. (Phrasing! Boom!)
  • Permidion_StarkPermidion_Stark Member Posts: 4,861
    xizor wrote: »
    I also have an impression that it would ruin the balance, making the game much easier at certiain points and much harder at the others (unless you remove exp cap, which would probably make almost the entire game laughably easy if you're playing something like sorcerer or FMT).

Soloing or playing as a duo does make the game much easier. You shoot up in levels and you can afford all the best equipment so it doesn't take long before you are outgunning every opponent you meet. To balance this I make it a rule that my characters aren't allowed to use any potions, scrolls or wands but still you can do a lot of the game on cruise control.
  • Rik_KirtaniyaRik_Kirtaniya Member Posts: 1,742
    Six if playing the BG series, solo for Icewind Dale.
  • lroumenlroumen Member Posts: 2,508
    edited September 2019
    Five and a swapping slot for npc quests. So actually six I guess, but not a static six. Often the sixth is out of harms way