Skip to content

What's more fun: Paladin or Fighter/Cleric

Heya :)

I am completely new to the Balder's Gate games. My favourite type of character to play in rpg games is a religious knight kind of character. I started my first playthrough of Baldur's Gate II as a paladin, but it occurred to me shortly afterwards that I could have also gone for a fighter/cleric.

So, my question is: Which one of these builds is more interesting to play. I am not looking for the strongest build or the most efficient min-maxed path through the game. I am sure there are arguments to be made for whichever of these builds is the strongest, but that's not what I'm looking for.

Which build do you think offers a more fun and interesting experience of the game from start to finish? :)

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975
    paladin i would say

with fighter/clerics you are going to be very restrictive of weapons choices, but with paladins the sky is the limit ( unless you are a cavalier ) and in fact there is a two handed sword in BG 2 that is strictly made for them and them only, its a cool sword, so if you are into two handed swords its a sword you will definitely want
  • Permidion_StarkPermidion_Stark Member Posts: 4,861
    I would go for paladin as well, though I would argue that cavalier is the most fun to play, mainly because of the massive advantages it brings (immunity to fear and poison, plus resistance to acid and fire). If you want to be able to go toe-to-toe with dragons and demons then cavalier is your guy.

Of course, as a paladin you access to spells is far more restricted than the fighter cleric and if you like spellcasting and having the ability to buff your character before battle then the latter might work better for you.
  • jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 3,829
    edited September 2019